We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Clean, stylish and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, stylish and comfortable”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We managed to snag a cancelled booking during the scallop festival and shared a two bedroom with friends. Beautifully appointed all mod cons strong shower and comfortable beds. We will definitely be back and will bring the boat as they even have a garage. Did not use pool as we did not realise it was heated so will make better use of facilities next time. Great for two couples as upstairs downstairs bedrooms and bathrooms

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    82
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
108
239
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. Our accommodation was superb which meant we had a neat relax, with no pressure stay. The view of the sea was lovely and there was plenty to see in the area, a must is to go to Hot Water Beach and have a soak. Steve was excellent in giving us places to visit and was always great to chat to. The pool at the Resort was lovely too, everything was so clean an tidy. We WILL be back, and look forward to the visit. THANK YOU for a super time.

Room Tip: Steve showed us our unit, and we were delighted at his choice for us, it was all perfect for us. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Owner at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
What a kind review - thank you. It was great to meet you and have you stay with us for the week. Apt 40 does have a nice outlook doesn't it - north facing with views of Mercury Bay. Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove (30mins drive from the resort) are a lot of fun too. Remember you have to visit Hot Water Beach at low tide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just spent my birthday holiday with Oceans Resort. Absolutely great memory with excellent service and lovely environment. Steve and Vicky are both very friendly and helpful even upgraded our room to add better sun rise view and space for my birthday stay! The apartment is very spacious and spotless with stunning ocean view. Highly recommend and definitely coming back for the next trip to Coromandel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_Li_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Highly recommend a stay at Oceans Resort. Steve the Manager was great and certainly multi talented. Booked for a night as Oceans was adjacent to The Lost Spring and had a private access to it. However, soon realised what a gem it was and stayed an extra two nights. Close to the beach, shops and restaurants. We had a two bedroom apartment, with a fully equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds. Spades for a must visit to Hot Water Beach were provided. Will be back and keen to recommendto our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment 50 which was away from the beach road and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHP534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Owner at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for your review Jan. Thrilled you decided to stay on the extra nights with us and very pleased that you found the apartment comfortable. Yes we are only a short stroll to the beach, shops and restaurants as you mention, which is so handy, yet the resort is tucked away from any main street traffic noise. We welcome your return any time. Steve and Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is an absolutely wonderful place to stay! The apartment was fantastic- spotless, very comfortable and all the luxuries of home. I loved sitting on the balcony in the sunshine listening to the music from the next door Lost Spring. Steve was an awesome host and the breakfasts were DELICIOUS!! Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstenWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We decided to take a short break in Whitianga at short notice and decided upon Oceans Resort after checking TA; simply put, this place is outstanding. We were met by Vicky and little one on arrival and immediately made welcome. After booking us in she took us down to the property and showed us around personally. Specially selecting a room with a view out over the bay we were spoilt! With amazing views, excellent (and extremely well furnished and clean) rooms and superb family facilities this place is a gem. Highly recommended to both families and couples. J & D (UK)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Owner at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for your review. It was lovely to meet you and have you stay with us. I'm pleased the apartment suited your family's needs. Hope to see you again if you make it back to NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I decided to take my partner away for the weekend (without the kids) and choose an awesome package including passes to the lost spring and a lovely cooked breakfast. The staff were really great and made every aspect of out weekend something to remember and all for a great price. A great way to farewell the winter season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweakstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Property: Oceans Resort Whitianga
Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing