We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceans Resort Whitianga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We rented a one room apartment, and we ended up getting a condo which could have slept six people, and they asked us just to please use only one bedroom! It was lovely having the space, a full kitchen, a washer and dryer, etc.
There was a nice deck out the back, unfortunately not a view, but still a nice place to sit if the day is nice. It was a town house type unit, with a very open main floor, which was excellent because it meant that you could open the doors/windows at either end and get great air circulation. We had three nights, but would have enjoyed a week.
The location is a bit of a walk from the main shopping, restaurant area, but quite doable.
The Ocean Resort had a special offer on at the time we were there. We were able to include breakfast for an additional fee. We had breakfast delivered to our suite each day via golf cart. It was wonderful! If they offer that, in my opinion it was definitely worth the additional charge.
Because it was a sort of vacation rental place (owned by an individual, but managed by the resort) I actually expected to not have daily cleaning service, but we did, which was also really nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    77
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
103
235
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed in one of the 2 bdrm apartments & were really impressed with the space - great value for money. The facilities were excellent, and the service was exceptional. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwirelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Possibly the best accommodation in Whitianga, which is an excellent base from which to see Cathedral Cove, Hot Water Beach and the many other attractions. A real apartment with plenty of space and very well appointed throughout. It's quiet and relaxing with the beach a very short walk away (200m), shops are a little further but still close (maybe 400m). Don't be in a rush, this is worth taking some time to enjoy. One small disappointment was that the free 'wifi' was not accessible from the room - you need to be around the pool area to get reception, which made it practically unappealing. Otherwise, it is hard to fault.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Owner at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Good news is - we have improved our free wifi service, so that 90% of our apartments and public spaces receive 'good' to 'excellent' reception - and yes it is still free!

If wifi is needed let us know and we will do our best to allocate an apartment with free wifi coverage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We choose this place due to the comments on tripadvisor and were not disapointed at all. First, the nice welcome of the couple taking care of this resort, was like providing sun in the middle of the clouds. Then, arriving to the house, what a surpise to have SPACE, LIGHT, and nice furniture. From The large living room to the kitchen, no bad surprise....price really worth what you can enjoy.
Internet included...which seems to be a huge problem wherever you go in New Zealand.
For me, it is the best value i experienced in New Zealand.

To be highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenitoKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We were amazed to see the nice location that this property is located on. We had an ocean view apartment with a nice kitchen and bath. Steve and Vicky Are super people, and were nice enough to modify our booking last minute when our plans got rescheduled. Also, we got some really good recommendations of things to do in the area and places to eat. I would visit Whitianga again just to stay here more.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roban427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

The accomodations at Oceans Resort exceeded all expectations. The modern and immaculate rooms include full kitchen, dining area, living room, spacious balcony, comfortable bedroom and free in room laundry and wifi which was a real bonus! We enjoyed the quick walk to Buffalo Beach, cute town and ferry. We enjoyed the quick ferry ride and hike to Shakespeare Cliff and enjoyed the beachs at Lonely Bay and Cooks Beach. Skip Hot Water Beach, definite low light compared to all the great hikes and views surrounding the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaod725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Our stay at Oceans Resort was the best we had in New Zealand. Steve and Vicky were gracious hosts and our apartment was top notch. Oceans Resort is located in the town of Whitianga, which is one of if not the largest city on the Coromandel Peninsula. It’s a very nice base for exploring Cathedral Cove, Hahei Beach, Cook’s Coast, and Hot Water Beach. Oceans Resort has fantastic location in Whitianga. Although it’s not ocean front, it’s only a 30 second walk away. Our apartment had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean from our outside patio, equipped with our own BBQ. The apartment was very modern and clean, fully equipped with all cutlery, flatware, and laundry facilities. It was hard to say goodbye to Oceans Resort and will most definitely stay there if we ever visit Whitianga again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLCUTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Property: Oceans Resort Whitianga
Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing