We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and high standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2007

We stayed at Oceans Whitianga for two nights. This was a great base to explore part of the Coromandel Peninsula, for example, Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove.

The accommodation was near the beach and we had a sea view from one end of our balcony. It is a new set of apartments and they are of a very good quality and finish. We had a one-bedroom apartment that had lots of space and was very well equipped. There was also free wi-fi.

Vicky, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts available for delivery to the room were fantastic and very reasonably priced. The swimming pool was a little chilly but it was still Spring!

We had a great stay at Oceans Whitianga.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank snelsontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 440 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2006

After a rather long and tedious drive from Palmerston North, we arrived at the apartments at 11.15pm. With careful reading of a map, we would have found the apartment a lot easier, but tired eyes can misread even the most precise instructions. Instead of trying to detour into the streets, we should have stayed on the main road until we hit the town centre, then headed north to Buffalo Beach. Once there it is quite easy to locate Eyre Street and the Oceans complex. As soon as we opened the front door we were hooked. Each building comprises 2 apartments, each spread over 2 storeys. The ground floor has a large single garage with secure door leading out onto an ample concrete apron, providing tenants with room to park 2 vehicles. There is also a full laundry, with washing machine, dryer and sink. Behind that is a good sized bedroom with ranch sliders leading out to a small concrete patio with a fold-away clothesrack. As well as all that, there is a fully fit-out bathroom with toilet and shower, meaning that the kids or a couple can have some privacy.

Comfortably carpeted stairs lead to the upper floor, where we entered the living area. As soon as we crest the stairs, we were presented with the view of a lifetime, out over Mercury Bay. Though it was quite late at night, it was full moon and the bay was lit with a ghostly pale light. This was actually quite a beautiful sight that enchanted me right off. However, sleep was required, so we unloaded the car and bundled into the upstairs bathroom, which had a combined shower and bath unit and it's own toilet. After a quick hose down, it was into the big, soft yet supportive, double bed. Breakfast the next morning was cooked in the great little kitchen area. Glass cooktop, oven, fridge-freezer, pantry, dishwasher, cordless jug, microwave, rangehood... you name it, it was there. Even a full set of knives, cutlery and crockery for a setting of 6... it was great.

On top of this luxury, there is a pool, tennis courts, and a newly-built children's playground right outside the front door, plus a good sized expanse of grass for kicking the soccerball around, throwing the megahowler, or just spreading out the towels and blobbing out soaking up sun after a swim. If that's not enough, this complex is only 2 minutes from the beach, 10 minutes walk from the shops, and about 15 minutes walk to the marina. With a dive shop where you can hire scuba gear or kayaks, or the jetty where you can jump on a tour boat and go for a 2 hour scenic trip, there is something for everyone in this stunning holiday destination.

Overall, it was a real treat to be here at Oceans and I certainly plan to make this a holiday destination every chance I can get. It's not the cheapest place by Kiwi standards, but then, quality costs, and overseas visitors would probably find it quite affordable due to exchange rates. These apartments can be hired on a per-night basis as a hotel-style fully-serviced apartment, or hired medium- to long-term for reduced rates as self-serviced holiday accommodation. I suggest that if you are at all interested, you should use the contact form on their website to find out the seasonal rates available.



  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Umbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 007Maz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Dirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Eugen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ANT2892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
101
Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
75 reviews
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range: $113 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing