We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts lovely home and setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Ranked #8 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts lovely home and setting”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of our honeymoon trip to NZ. The great thing about B&Bs rather than hotels is the individuality of the place but also the hosts. The setting for this B&B is lovely close to the beach and you can actually borrow the owners sit own kayaks and paddle your way there from the stream in the garden of the property. The rooms are set in the gardens and are private and comfortable. The beds are excellent as is the terrace decking outside. We didn't really like the bathroom layout that made it quite integral to the bedroom but the shower itself was "walk in" and spacious. Chris and Paul are a great couple and get the balance spot on. They were really helpful and made a great breakfast. They lent us a spade to go to the hot water beach, which was fun and quite a sight. I then the next day managed to lose my sunglasses and Chris kindly went into town for me after I left, found my glasses (left in the local cinema) and posted them on for me. That's great service! We ate twice at a slightly bizarre place called eggscentric. . The owners are very laid back and you can take your own wine. The food is actually really good. Excellent seafood and beautifully cooked meat dishes too. All in all a very good location and some fantastic stretches of beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 218alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
94
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a nice little B&B, dont get me wrong. It is located close to Cooks beach, has lovely hosts and a good breakfast. The hosts- Chris & Paul are lovely and had lots of advice to provide about the area & things to do.

However, it really shouldnt be priced at the rate that it is. For $300 a night, you expect luxury accomodation, which this is not. The cottage, while cozy, doesnt have a bathroom door -just a curtain. The shower cubicle has no shower curtains and the bathroom only has ordinary toiletries. The cottage is also located right off the main road, which means that you can hear cars whizzing by very often.

The breakfast, as most reviewers have said, was good. But we didnt get everything we asked for on the second morning, which was a little disappointing.

We did get coupons to the Lost Springs spa- which made us feel slightly better at having spent $600 on a regular B&B. But I suggest that the owners price this downwards, so that guests leave feeling they paid the right amount for it, and don't feel misled.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWhitianga, Owner at Mussel Bed Boutique B&B, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for your comments Swathi. We would gladly have talked to you more about the package you purchased Swathi had you asked us at the time of your stay. However, to set the story straight I can explain it more accurately as follows. For $595 inc GST, when our guests purchase the Romantic Spa Package, they receive 2 nights in a deluxe suite including breakfast, 2 bottles of baby bubbly on arrival, chocolates and 2 all day pool passes to the Lost Spring (value $120). Our normal summer rate is $285 per night so you can see, you actually only pay $237 per night by purchasing our Romantic Spa Package, which represents good value.

Everyone has their own perception of the word "luxury" and for that reason we don't advertise our accommodation as being of a luxury standard. I'm sorry if you thought you didn't get all that you asked for off our breakfast menu - we encourage our guests to try everything we offer on our menu and would have been only too happy to top you up. Again, we would have been only too happy to fix the problem for you if you mentioned it to us while you were here.

We're pleased you enjoyed your time on the Coromandel though and hope you have a safe trip back home to India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon around NZ and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property was well located for exploring the peninsula and the room (we stayed in the Pacifica suite) was large and tastefully decorated, with a huge and comfy bed and an excellent walk-in shower. Breakfast was delivered on a tray each morning and was tasty and plentiful - we particularly liked the option to have a hot dish. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, not only did they present us with a bottle of champagne on arrival, they also assisted us in making a booking for a local restaurant and provided suggestions of things to do in the area. Fish and chips and a bottle of wine at sunset on the beautiful nearby Cooks Beach is not to be missed!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheOriginalLiverbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very unique accomodation with lovely hosts. The accomodation was very comfortable and warm, every effort was made to make us comfortable, including the lending of large umbrellas! The afternoon tea with fresh milk and English Breakfast teabags was very welcome.
Breakfast was very good, delivered to the room and very tasty, especially the hot dishes.
Hot water beach is worth a visit, even in torrential rain!
The only draw back we found was that there was a lack of places to eat nearby that were open as we were there in the winter.
The scenery in the area was stunning and the roads dramatically bendy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We only stayed here one night after traveling all day from Auckland. Chris and Paul were very friendly, extremely accommodating and really made us feel welcome. Paul showed us right to our room and left us to rest the day away. The Victorian Suite was warm, inviting and beautifully decorated, which is all we could have asked for. We received great directions prior to coming, for both the scenic and the quick trip, and Paul directed us perfectly to a great place to have dinner using the ferry to get across. The best part about the B&B, had to be the breakfast. Unbelievable! Well presented, great food, more than enough and delivered to our door. Couldn't ask for a better stay and a great way to start our trip through NZ. Thank you Chris and Paul - Brian and Lisa

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWhitianga, Owner at Mussel Bed Boutique B&B, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you for those lovely comments Brian & Lisa - we really enjoyed meeting you both. All the best with your role as Mary Poppins Lisa - we'll look for both your names in the bright lights in years to come!! Best wishes, Chris & Paul xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I booked the B&B from a referral by the local B&B association. From the first contact, Chris was most welcoming and provided helpful information. Even though we arrived in the rain it was a spectacular place to end our trip. Chris & Paul are great hosts. The breakfasts were fabulous -- yummy pastries and other things. This was a trip to celebrate my husbands birthday and Chris invited us to have mussel fritters and a drink with them one evening. The fritters & ginger sauce were amazing and the conversation was wonderful. Hot Springs Beach which is nearby was a fun experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our experience at Mussel Bed was delightful and set the standard for our long awaited trip to New Zealand. Chris & Paul went over and above expectations in order to assure we were comfortable and graciously shared their beautiful grounds. Each day began with a delicious breakfast and suggestions for enjoying the area. The cottage was very comfortable for 2 couples - modern & cheerful. Our only regret is that it is too far from home for us to become "regulars". Thanks again Chris & Paul

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
424 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bayview at 91
Bayview at 91
#1 of 42 in Whitianga
295 reviews
2.4 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussel Bed Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

Property: Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Address: 892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mussel Bed Boutique B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Paul welcome you to the "Mussel Bed" - nestled amidst native bush, tropical gardens & streams & yet, so close to beautiful Cooks Beach. A perfect base to explore Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach which is only a 10 mins drive. Our self-contained cottage has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 5 people. Our guest wing has 3 luxurious suites, tiled en suites & french doors opening onto private decks with all those special touches our guests love! We bring breakfast to you on a tray to enjoy in our lovely garden. Kayak the stream from our jetty and enjoy the natural bird habitat, exploring caves and walking on gorgeous Lonely Bay! We look forward to making your stay a special one. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing