We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend Mussel Bed B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Ranked #7 of 40 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Highly Recommend Mussel Bed B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Mussel Bed was recommended by our travel agent as a good base location for exploring the Coromandel. We were six experienced American travelers with high expectations. To a person, we were blown away by our 3-night stay with Chris and Paul. The rooms were very comfortable with excellent beds and a cozy porch for for sipping morning coffee or relaxing with a book. We had a great sea kayak tour of nearby Cooks Bay and Cathederal Cove. But the most impressive things about our stay at Mussel Bed were 1) the fantastic breakfast featuring fresh fruits from their beautiful garden and 2) the amazing hosts Chris and Paul. They enthusiastically welcomed us, introduced us to other guests, made excellent recommendations on local restuarants and activities, and in general made our stay the most enjoyable on our New Zealand trip. We highly recommend Mussel Bed for a great B&B experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
92
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Over priced; badly located; poor accommodation; indifferent hosts and the web-site is not accurate. This place is suitable only for back-packers who would not be stupid enough to pay such exorbitant prices for such lousy standards. There are many lower priced and far better places in the area - don't fall for the glossy pictures and rubbish written on the web-site.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Other reviewers have already praised the location, the accommodation, and Chris and Paul as fabulous hosts, so it's hard to come up with anything new. But we endorse all the praise already heaped upon this B&B. The accommodation is modern, clean and comfortable, the breakfasts look and taste divine, the location is to die for. The arrangement of the buildings in Italian courtyard style works very well, giving everyone the opportunity to be sociable, or have privacy if they want it. In all our travels, our stay at Mussel Bed, and Chris and Paul, stand out in our memories. Sue and Andy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue77_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We booked this as a romantic break away from Auckland and the Rugby world cup and could not of been happier with our victorian room.. The B&B is set in Paul and Chris's beautiful gardens next to the stream which leads down to the sea on Cook's beach ( you can use their kayaks and paddle down it to the sea). We absolutely loved the breakfast which has gained some notoriety around the town! And as for the host's, Paul and Chris were so welcoming and nothing was a problem. We fell in love with Whitianga and felt like we gained two friends.. we will be back!

Room Tip: The Victorian room has best views and is the sunniest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

The home made Breakfast delivered to our room was amazing & much better than any cafe. We absolutely loved our stay at Mussel Bed & Breakfast. Chris our host made us feel right at home. The room was excellent with all the amenities. A great base for going to the scallop festival. Fenton (Whangarei)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beachhut Suite. Highly recommended for families. The kids get to sleep in the loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FentonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for a weekend away. Wow, what a gorgeous place. Beautiful room, lovely hosts, AMAZING breakfast. Couldn't fault it, we will certainly be back for another naughty weekend :}

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I only stayed here by myself for one night but Chris and Paul provided such a wonderful welcome and great place to stay that it was worth it. The breakfast was fantastic with both hot and continental dishes. Really well thought out and just the right amount of food. The gardens and rooms are just lovely and they would be an utter delight in warmer weather.

The only slight downside is that the heater is too small for a room with a high ceiling but it was the low season so that's ok.

I would highly recommend Mussel Beach B&B as a place to stay to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.5 mi away
970 Lonely Bay
970 Lonely Bay
#2 of 24 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
14.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.7 mi away
The Church Accommodation
2.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussel Bed Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

Property: Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Address: 892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mussel Bed Boutique B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Paul welcome you to the "Mussel Bed" - nestled amidst native bush, tropical gardens & streams & yet, so close to beautiful Cooks Beach. A perfect base to explore Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach which is only a 10 mins drive. Our self-contained cottage has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 5 people. Our guest wing has 3 luxurious suites, tiled en suites & french doors opening onto private decks with all those special touches our guests love! We bring breakfast to you on a tray to enjoy in our lovely garden. Kayak the stream from our jetty and enjoy the natural bird habitat, exploring caves and walking on gorgeous Lonely Bay! We look forward to making your stay a special one. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing