We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all about the money, ask for the fineprint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbourside Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“all about the money, ask for the fineprint”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My partner and I pulled into this deserted holiday park with a huge "under new management sign". We chose it only due to it's proximity to the water. We were told there was "plenty of vacancy". We spoke to the 'new management' about activities in the area, all of them being beach activities. We debated staying one or two nights, and eventually decided on two nights in a self contained cabin (at $110 per night the most expensive on our two week tour of the whole North Island), because we thought we would want a shower after being at the beach all day. There were only 2 other people staying there and 1 camper.
We were given a bag with a quilt and towels (we had to make our own beds at the most expensive holiday park!). There was no soap provided anywhere even though we paid an extra $30 per night for a bathroom. (the alternative was to use the shower block for $1 per 6 minutes, most don't charge for hot water). We awoke to heavy pounding rain. We checked the weather radar and found a heavy rain cell had settled directly over Whitianga, so we discussed moving on as every one of our planned activities was beach related. I jumped over our water logged front stoop (I was told by the owners they have a drainage problem) and headed for the office, to ask for a refund for our second night. There is no sign saying no refunds, and the website says refunds are 'dependent on what type of booking you have'. When I asked I was told under no circumstances would there be a refund, not to mention that he didn't even ask why we wanted to leave early (were it my place I would want to know if anything was wrong). I realise you can't refund everybody, but had we booked weeks in advance I would understand or if they had turned people away because of lack of vacancies, I would understand that too. We had walked in off the street, and by the next morning we were the only guests in the park. This is obviously a grab for money and no concern for customer service and future recommendations. I am in customer service and realise sometimes for the sake of doing the right thing you have to be able to be flexible with policies. Customers are always number 1 because without them you don't have a business. I have friends coming to NZ next month and they are waiting at home for my recommendations from this trip and I know where I won't be recommending!!

Room Tip: ask for a room without drainage problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cissy202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D L, Owner at Harbourside Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I feel sure that had the weather been better, your stay would have been most enjoyable. We do not give refunds if you want to leave early because it is raining or if you have simply changed your mind about your departure date. Our refund policy is clearly stated in the office and on the web, and nowhere does it say that refunds depend on what type of unit you have booked. We give refunds if for some reason we cannot fulfil our contractual obligations to you. Our guests are important to us. There is a sign in the unit you stayed in asking you to tell us if there is a problem or something is broken in the unit, and we say we shall do our best to repair as quickly as possible. There was no problem. You knew when you inspected the unit and before you booked that we do not operate as a motel giving complimentary soap, coffee etc. You also knew that the bed was not made up with linen. You were pleased with the unit and its price when you made the booking and only became dissatisfied when the weather was not to your liking. We do not have a drainage problem in Whitianga. About 100mm of rain came down overnight. By lunch time, the rain had stopped, the water quickly drained away, and the sun was out. There is much to do in our beautiful small town to fill a few hours in bad weather and we are sorry you chose to leave early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
28
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at this park several times and it (in the past) was dog friendly, had a lovely friendly feel and stunning trees that made it private and shady.

We booked in again and arrived to find no welcome lights and at the time we arrived (7pm) it was very dark and hard to see from the road. As we drove in a light came on warning us we were under surveillance, and then saw, to our horror, great hacked and sawn junks out of most the trees, the one near the pool was slashed back to 3 meter high stump.

My partner went to confirm that we were booked and and paid (or so we thought) but then were told that we had not paid but that they had just taken our credit card details on-line. So watch that when you book on-line as it is confusing.

We were shown to our cabin and it was neat and clean. The fridge had not been turned on for our arrival and so we got it going only to be constantly disturbed by the loud gurgling and humming noises coming out of it. (was that why they had not turned it on?). Needless to say we had to turn it off.

In the morning the devastation to what had once been a lovely green park was fully evident. Most of the trees had either been hacked back roughly and unprofessionally or they were just stumps in the ground. Totally unneeded as the trees were great for shade and giving a private feel the the place.

Next was the big new NO DOGS red sign at the front gate.

Next were the screaming kids at 7.45am on Sunday morning after our second night, jumping on the trampoline set up conveniently next to the cabins.

The whole feeling of the place has changed and it's no longer on our list as a great place to stay. In fact that was the last time we will ever book there or recommend to it anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TFMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D L, Owner at Harbourside Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
My husband and I are both very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
The fridge in your standard cabin was new in December . After each guest, it is turned off and cleaned. We have had no trouble with it making an awful noise either before or after your stay. It is still under warranty.
The security lights have been up for at least 2 years, and they were put up by last operator. I am sorry you felt as though you were under surveillance. Many camps now have these lights and we have decided to leave them up.
The new trampoline is in the childrens' play area with the other playground equipment. The cabins are popular with families wanting to keep an eye on their small children.
Couples tend to choose the cabins that sleep 2 persons, and these are not close to the play area.

My husband planted all these trees himself in 1987. He loves them. They had not been looked after for 17 years, and we have had some removed to get light into the area so that the grass will grow back. Your visit was timed between them being cut and a stump grinder arriving. We are now told the area looks beautiful. Topsoil has been bought and the sites relevelled, the grass is growing and the remaining trees have been pruned professionally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A lovely location, just short walk to town and Whitianga is truely charming. Unusual greeting at Harbourside with a bit of a history of the rundown of the Parks demise which is unfortunate. Yes the facilities are old and need updating but if you can look past that and see what a nice property it is you'll enjoy your time here. The owners are honest - too honest. Dont let it put you off though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetblanket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D L, Owner at Harbourside Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. The facilities do need updating, and we are working on them to improve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
12.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
#5 of 23 in Whitianga
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.3 mi away
Marina Park Apartments
Marina Park Apartments
#6 of 23 in Whitianga
153 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Holiday Park

Property: Harbourside Holiday Park
Address: 135 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbourside Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated across the road from a sandy estuary beach just 450 m from the town's centre, with its cafes and galleries. The park is an easy walk to the towns main beach, wharf, and marina. Our range of budget accommodation includes tourist flats ( with refurbished bathrooms and kitchens), cabins with their own kitchens, and standard cabins where guests share both kitchen and bathroom facilities with other guests. Our large level powered and non-powered camp sites are set in beautiful mature park grounds. Make our family park your base from which to explore the peninsula. Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove are a 30-minute drive away. The historic town of Coromandel, the kauris on the 309, and the beautiful beaches at New Chums, Opito and Otama are all within a 30-40 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbourside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing