We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place in Town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“Best Place in Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were fortunate to have a two night stay here. Great design, very spacious, owner very helpful .... gorgeous wee dog! Immaculate presentation. Great view and feeling of connection to the beach! Thank You ... we'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007katie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and also remembering Masti (little dog). It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and looking forward to your next visit to Whitianga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    66
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
153
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Having first stayed here in 2002, we were pleased to find that the quality of the motel, helpfulness and friendliness of Ambuj and the staff were just the same.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable with fabulous views over Buffalo Bay, kitchens fully equipped right down to a dishwasher. Great bathroom too.
Well kept garden and grounds with a warm swimming pool, although we did notice an increase in traffic noise from our previous trip.
Easy walk into Whitianga town where there are a number of good restuarants, would recommend The Carvery.
Good base for exploring Cathedral Cove, Hahei Beach, Hot Water Beach ( hot water at low tide) and the area to the North.
We love this area of New Zealand and hope to be back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and glad you enjoyed the lodge on this return visit. We have tried to keep the place same, as we do get a lot of repeat customers who enjoy the comforts and the surroundings. I am sure there is tiny bit more traffic from your last visit, as there has been some positive development in the area. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The motel is very well designed with every suite having a sea view, but with the bedrooms at the back of the property to avoid road noise.
The suites are a good size with plenty of room to spread out and a full range kitchen including an oven so you can cook properly if you wish. However, if you do want to eat out the motel has chargeback with all the main restaurants in town.
The pool at the front is a nice touch as you can get to it easily from your room or keep an eye on the family in the pool area.
Outside has been recently done up by the new owners and hopefully bathrooms are next on the list as they are starting look a little dated, but perfectly serviceable and clean

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your review of the lodge. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and like the setup of the rooms. We are constantly working on improving the property with subtle additions while maintaining the spirit. I hope you will stay with us, next time when visiting Whitianga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had an upstairs room which have the best views as shown in the first picture attached. It was so big, seemed like a palace. Everything you could want. Big enclosed balcony - they describe as a conservatory which I guess is fair enough. You can open the conservatory windows pretty much the whole way and enjoy the breeze and uninterrupted view.

Not shown in any of the pictures attached is the TV, which of course had Sky, but also looked like both DVD player and CD/music system was provided also.

The toilet was one of those ones mounted on the wall and being a big guy I'm always a bit wary of them, but it felt completely strong (usually there seems to be a bit of give when I use one!).

There is a lovely wee dog in residence, well behaved (i.e. quiet!) and loves to get a scratch and play around. Couldn't help but take lots of pics and interact with him a few times. Instant happiness.

So far so good, however there did turn out to be a few downsides which is why my rating is only 4 out of 5.

The one that affected me most is that the water temperature was rather variable, would be fine for a while but could get a fair bit hotter or colder - and stay that way long enough to make me try changing the controls but really that just complicates things and I'm left not sure what to do and at the mercy of the water system.

The room didn't block out light that well in the morning; the entry door is opaque so light comes through, and some of the vertical blinds just wouldn't sit correctly so light streamed in between some of them. So I woke up earlier than I'd have liked.

The other things weren't a problem for me but I was in a tour group of mostly quite old folk and I think would have been difficult for them if all the rooms were the same
- the shower is raised so you need to step down when leaving it, and the way it's oriented there can't be any sort of handle or rail to hold onto to steady yourself if you're not as strong and well balanced as you once were.
- the toilet as mentioned previously is wall mounted, and is quite high. I'm a tall man and I felt like I was about to be lifted off the ground. Not sure how some of my older and shorter tour buddies would have gone about getting on and off the loo, I think it must have been a bit awkward if it was the same setup as my room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay and also playing with Masti (little dog), as he loves attention. I am sorry about the inconsistent hot water you had during the shower, it was due to a faulty mixing valve which we have fixed and the blinds have been re-adjusted. Thanks for bringing it to my attention, otherwise I would have not known about it. I do get comments about the toilet seat being a slightly higher than normal, and in talking to the people who built this lodge, it was a design issue.

I hope these minor issues wont keep you away from us, and you will choose to stay with us again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed there for a night at this motel. Couldn't believe it. It was the best place we have ever stayed at. The owner /manager was friendly and cheerful. We will stay there again everytime we go to Whitianga. Thank you for the friendliness.

Room Tip: get an upstairs room. Fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are looking forward towards your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed there on our recent family trip to New Zealand. Place was big and spacious unlike the other motels we have stayed in. Definitely worth the money you paid for if you are looking for a place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments about your stay. It is exciting to know that you enjoyed your stay and it was a comfortable one. I hope you will stay with us again, when visiting New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a lovely place is Whitianga and Admiralty lodge is a perfect place to stay to enjoy this part of the world. Arrived in rain and gloom and woke to a beautiful view on our doorstep. Walking distance to the charming town centre and wharf.
The accommodation was well appointed, spacious and faultless.
The manager and staff were very friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in doing whatever they could to make our stay better.
Could not recommend a better stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed the lodge and the surroundings, it was a pleasure to be your host. Looking forward to your return visit to Whitianga and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Property: Admiralty Lodge Motel
Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing