We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

After driving round trying to find a room on the Coromandel we called up the Admiralty Lodge at 9pm to find that they had just had cancellation. We arrived at 10pm and found the manager very helpful and friendly. He arranged breakfast for us for the next morning, which was very good, and made sure that we had everything that we needed. The room was spacious, clean, well equipped and had a lovely view of the beach. We liked it so much that our one night stay ended up being 3 nights. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review and it was pleasure to have you stay with us. I am glad you extended your stay and were able to explore the beautiful Coromandel area.

Whenever your travel plans bring you to this area, we would love to have you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Admiralty Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 268 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

The best place to stay in Whitianga by a mile! Perhaps even the best in small town NZ. I come down here often for work and have tried other accomodations but for the last 10 visits I have returned only to the Admiralty. Ambuj the owner is a lovely friendly and obliging host who will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. I love it here so much I decided to bring the family down so we have just returned from a family holiday for a long weekend. My husband and 9year old daughter were both very impressed. Both hard nuts to crack. We had only two nights booked but decided to have a third as we didnt want to leave.
The view from all the rooms is the best you'll get in Whitianga, right across the water and the best sunrise ever! Off the road just enough to be private as many other propertys to stay at nearby have rooms that are fully visible from the road. The amenities are top class. The spa bath in most units perfect for two. The beds have lovely linen and the interior design is very modern and luxurious. Sky tv kept the family happy at night. We made good use of the heated pool even though its April and cooler it is like a tepid bath to get into. A full kitchen with s/s Hob and stove and dishwasher, full fridge/freezer, free wifi, Heat pump, electric blankets...everything you need to feel like home. I have stayed in a few different rooms now and upstairs has a lovely enclosed balcony to sit and have a cuppa even if its raining. The downstairs has outdoor balcony with easier access to pool. But great views from them all. Very very very clean which is a big must in my books, I never go barefoot in a hotel but Im happy to here. Breakfast is delish everytime....what else can I stay, this is my little home away from home. If I had to have a negative the only thing I can think of is that the front doors dont have a chain but it is a safe town I believe. Don't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Upstairs for enclosed balcony to enjoy the view even if its raining. Downstairs if you want to have...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verity F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you had a wonderful time at the lodge. We would love to see your family back at the lodge in near future so your daughter can enjoy the warm pool after a nice walk on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights here on our 5 week trip and were delighted with the accommodation. We ate out which was a waste of the well-equipped kitchen and dining area, plus there's a supermarket just on the outskirts of town. Town is quite a walk away so we drove in to restaurants in the evening. The pool is a good size so we swam most days. We took a package which included an hour at the local thermal spa . We enjoyed this, but were glad we hadn't booked for the dat as found an hour in thermal waters to be sufficient and we still had access to treatments and dining afterwards.

Room Tip: Book a room on the second floor if you want sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18Sue18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had one of our first few nights away from our daughter since she was born and the bubbly and chocolate-dipped strawberries were such a treat upon arrival. We were so well looked after and it wasn't much more than the other very average-looking places in town that we looked at. So it was so easy to make the decision to book back again at the Admiralty for our next trip to Whitianga. We're bringing the in-laws this time from Canada and we know they won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_Devo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wow, the rooms were big!!! I had a bedroom, single bed in the lounge and 2 3 seater couches!!! There was only me!!! WE had a team meeting in my room and it was more than big enough to seat all 16 of us!!!

Room Tip: Fabulous views from all rooms over to the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had three most enjoyable nights at the Admiralty Lodge Motel. On our arrival we were welcomed by Ambuj and his most friendly dog Masti. On checking in, Ambuj gave us a full account of the accommodation and a detailed description of our to dinner options in Whitianga. The motel is right on the beach front and the rooms are very clean, most spaciousand have a balcony. Contact throughout our stay was maintained with Ambuj, and he was clearly keen to ensure that our stay in Whitianga at his motel was an enjoyable one. There is a whole host of interesting day activities to undertake in close proximity to the Admiralty Lodge. On one afternoon, we borrowed motel bikes to explore the area. We would highly recommend a stay at the Admiralty Lodge in Whitianga.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Admiralty. The room was extremely clean and well designed with ample sleeping and living space. The unit included all the amenities along with a roll in wheelchair shower easy access. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The beach and walking path is just across the street and a beautiful pool and patio are located steps from the back door. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhektner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: $124 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing