We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
191
73
19
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
73
19
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath enclosed balcony across the road free bikes hot water beach heated pool the owner manager cooking equipment upstairs studio mercury bay sea view big room new zealand buffalo beach powerful shower brilliant stay great room
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 294 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner booked us in on a whim for a night and we didn't want to travel too far from Auckland. When we arrived to Admiralty Motor Lodge we were pleasantly suprised at the kindness given at the front desk, and the by the workers who made small talk about the wonderful weather. The room itself was impressive and with my partner always staying at hotels for conferences, he mentioned that this was one of the best places he had ever stayed.

The location is amazing with a short walk to the beach, bed spacious, clean facilities, extra goodies like cookies for your cup of tea to name a few.

Cannot speak more highly about this place and we have already organized a longer stay and we are bringing back our friends. Loving Admiralty and Whitianga!!!!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Memory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your return to Whitianga and to Admiralty Lodge. I have passed on your comments to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I arrived in Whitianga with no reserved accommodation, and drove the beach road looking for a "home" for the night. The Admiralty Lodge Motel immediately caught our eye. Ambuj and associate (dog) Masti, welcomed us with such a calming, gentle and easy going air that we decided to stay...eventually for two nights. The rooms are huge, and full of every extra you could need. Ambuj was the most gracious host: with a few extra touches during check-in, booking our Kayak trip, shared stories, and added a special evening addition to our second night that completed a fantastic day of adventure and Kiwi hospitality. Ambuj made our stay so much more than we could have expected. Thank You so very much. We really didn't want to leave, but more of NZ beckoned..... We wholeheartedly recommend the Admiralty Lodge Motel to anyone.

Room tip: Second (top) floor has best views.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarryScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

I am delighted to hear about your experience with us. My associate (Masti) always gets excited to see the guests and enjoys entertaining them. It was our pleasure that you stayed with us and you were also able to enjoy the outdoors. I hope you enjoyed rest of your New Zealand trip and hope to see you again in Whitianga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is wonderful and I am so happy we stayed here! Huge room (we had #205 which is one flight up), immaculate, with large bathroom with spa tub, plush towels, 2 comfy bathrobes and and great water pressure, fully equipped kitchen (with nice extras like an assortment of teas, cocoa, coffee and cookies) leather sofa, tv, desk, table and chairs, and to us the best part of all--incredible views of Mercury Bay. the room has sliding glass doors for one wall that slide all the way open onto a very large balcony, which has sliding windows that also slide open completely into themselves. So you can open all the doors and windows and have no barriers to your enjoyment of the beach (Buffalo Beach is steps away just across the 2 lane road) and the gorgeous water views. If you leave the drapes open, you can wake to incredible sunrises over the water from the king size bed. The staff and the owner who is on site are very friendly and helpful--getting us a different kind of pillow, lending us a spade to use at Hot Water Beach, making change so I could use the onsite laundry. We had an amazing time in Whitianga, and I can't imagine a better home base from which to explore all the great hikes and sites of the area than from this place. Btw, don't miss the hike to Cathedral Cove, the views are incredible!

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lauri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. It was great to have you stay with us and I am so happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us. It is always a pleasure for us to take care of guest needs. I hope you had a fabulous rest of your trip in New Zealand too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Admiralty Lodge Motel is across the road from Buffalo Beach and about 15 minutes' walk to the town. We had a Spa apartment and the standard of our accommodation was excellent. Very spacious and modern - bedroom with comfortable large bed, a separate living room with sofas, flat screen TV, small desk and modern furnishings, and large glass doors that opened out on to a roomy paved outdoor area with table and chairs. The bathroom had a spa bath and was luxuriously appointed with generous supplies of toiletries. We also had a full kitchen that included a dishwasher. Everything was immaculately clean.
Ambuj, the manager, was extremely helpful and approachable and obviously strives to provide every possible comfort for his guests.
The Spa apartments are on the ground floor, so sometimes there was a bit of noise from the car park when people drove in and out, but generally this was infrequent and didn't bother us much.

Room tip: We highly recommend the spaciousness and comfort of the King Spa accommodation.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad you had a pleasant stay. We try our best to provide a clean and comfortable environment, so our guests can relax and enjoy. I am delighted to hear about your experience and hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Thanks to the management for providing such a beautiful, spotlessly clean room. We stayed with friends on the spur of the moment, booked two rooms and received great, friendly, helpful service. Rooms were so large with comfortable beds and the breakfast provided was great.
thank you we would book again next time. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Ground floor spa rooms were great !
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It is great to know that your experience with us was positive and of course it was our pleasure to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews