We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“an oasis”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

From the first moment we arrived we were impressed by the beachfront location, the efficient and happy staff, the cleanliness of the rooms and the layout of the unit. The spa bath was heavenly within the clean expansive bathroom. This motel supplies additional extra such as shampoo and conditioner via a pump next to the shower/bath. The heated pool was an unexpected bonus and yes it really is heated to a temperature thats comfortable to get in and out of even when the weather is cold. The owner and manager was genuine, down to earth, quietly friendly and respectful of privacy - no loud in your face type here. His white fluffy puppy is a definite draw card - so happy to see people, an absolute little darling. I thoroughly recommend Admiralty Lodge. Its the best value for money and the best place to stay in Whitianga.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed staying with us. I have passed on your comments about the cleanliness to the staff as they take pride in their work. We hope you will come and stay with us again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    66
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
159
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner booked us in on a whim for a night and we didn't want to travel too far from Auckland. When we arrived to Admiralty Motor Lodge we were pleasantly suprised at the kindness given at the front desk, and the by the workers who made small talk about the wonderful weather. The room itself was impressive and with my partner always staying at hotels for conferences, he mentioned that this was one of the best places he had ever stayed.

The location is amazing with a short walk to the beach, bed spacious, clean facilities, extra goodies like cookies for your cup of tea to name a few.

Cannot speak more highly about this place and we have already organized a longer stay and we are bringing back our friends. Loving Admiralty and Whitianga!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Memory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your return to Whitianga and to Admiralty Lodge. I have passed on your comments to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I arrived in Whitianga with no reserved accommodation, and drove the beach road looking for a "home" for the night. The Admiralty Lodge Motel immediately caught our eye. Ambuj and associate (dog) Masti, welcomed us with such a calming, gentle and easy going air that we decided to stay...eventually for two nights. The rooms are huge, and full of every extra you could need. Ambuj was the most gracious host: with a few extra touches during check-in, booking our Kayak trip, shared stories, and added a special evening addition to our second night that completed a fantastic day of adventure and Kiwi hospitality. Ambuj made our stay so much more than we could have expected. Thank You so very much. We really didn't want to leave, but more of NZ beckoned..... We wholeheartedly recommend the Admiralty Lodge Motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Second (top) floor has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarryScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am delighted to hear about your experience with us. My associate (Masti) always gets excited to see the guests and enjoys entertaining them. It was our pleasure that you stayed with us and you were also able to enjoy the outdoors. I hope you enjoyed rest of your New Zealand trip and hope to see you again in Whitianga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is wonderful and I am so happy we stayed here! Huge room (we had #205 which is one flight up), immaculate, with large bathroom with spa tub, plush towels, 2 comfy bathrobes and and great water pressure, fully equipped kitchen (with nice extras like an assortment of teas, cocoa, coffee and cookies) leather sofa, tv, desk, table and chairs, and to us the best part of all--incredible views of Mercury Bay. the room has sliding glass doors for one wall that slide all the way open onto a very large balcony, which has sliding windows that also slide open completely into themselves. So you can open all the doors and windows and have no barriers to your enjoyment of the beach (Buffalo Beach is steps away just across the 2 lane road) and the gorgeous water views. If you leave the drapes open, you can wake to incredible sunrises over the water from the king size bed. The staff and the owner who is on site are very friendly and helpful--getting us a different kind of pillow, lending us a spade to use at Hot Water Beach, making change so I could use the onsite laundry. We had an amazing time in Whitianga, and I can't imagine a better home base from which to explore all the great hikes and sites of the area than from this place. Btw, don't miss the hike to Cathedral Cove, the views are incredible!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. It was great to have you stay with us and I am so happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us. It is always a pleasure for us to take care of guest needs. I hope you had a fabulous rest of your trip in New Zealand too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Admiralty Lodge Motel is across the road from Buffalo Beach and about 15 minutes' walk to the town. We had a Spa apartment and the standard of our accommodation was excellent. Very spacious and modern - bedroom with comfortable large bed, a separate living room with sofas, flat screen TV, small desk and modern furnishings, and large glass doors that opened out on to a roomy paved outdoor area with table and chairs. The bathroom had a spa bath and was luxuriously appointed with generous supplies of toiletries. We also had a full kitchen that included a dishwasher. Everything was immaculately clean.
Ambuj, the manager, was extremely helpful and approachable and obviously strives to provide every possible comfort for his guests.
The Spa apartments are on the ground floor, so sometimes there was a bit of noise from the car park when people drove in and out, but generally this was infrequent and didn't bother us much.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the spaciousness and comfort of the King Spa accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and I am glad you had a pleasant stay. We try our best to provide a clean and comfortable environment, so our guests can relax and enjoy. I am delighted to hear about your experience and hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Thanks to the management for providing such a beautiful, spotlessly clean room. We stayed with friends on the spur of the moment, booked two rooms and received great, friendly, helpful service. Rooms were so large with comfortable beds and the breakfast provided was great.
thank you we would book again next time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor spa rooms were great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It is great to know that your experience with us was positive and of course it was our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Accomodated straight away with another fold out bed for our youngest child and then the kids were straight into the pool, great pool, really good size and soo warm, and the 3 hole mini golf was another activity the kids loved. The room was clean and full of everything you would need, so no need to pack extra blankets or kitchen utensils. Right across the road from the beach and a 10min walk to the Whitianga town so nice and close. We loved Masti (Ambuj's) wee dog and would have quite happily have taken him home. Economic and clean which are two things that dont often go hand in hand at affordable accomodation but at the Admiralty they do. Lovely time.

Room Tip: Ask for the spa bath and the lower rooms have direct access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiths353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
I am so happy to know that the kids had a good time with us. Masti also enjoys entertaining our guests and I need him here to keep it going. You all should come back, stay here again and play with him as much as you want and he will gladly oblige.

Thank you for comments and it was pleasure for us to have you stay here at the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Property: Admiralty Lodge Motel
Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing