We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
191
74
20
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
74
20
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath enclosed balcony across the road hot water beach heated pool the owner manager cooking equipment upstairs studio mercury bay great sea view big room new zealand powerful shower buffalo beach brilliant stay great room excellent location
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 296 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is wonderful and I am so happy we stayed here! Huge room (we had #205 which is one flight up), immaculate, with large bathroom with spa tub, plush towels, 2 comfy bathrobes and and great water pressure, fully equipped kitchen (with nice extras like an assortment of teas, cocoa, coffee and cookies) leather sofa, tv, desk, table and chairs, and to us the best part of all--incredible views of Mercury Bay. the room has sliding glass doors for one wall that slide all the way open onto a very large balcony, which has sliding windows that also slide open completely into themselves. So you can open all the doors and windows and have no barriers to your enjoyment of the beach (Buffalo Beach is steps away just across the 2 lane road) and the gorgeous water views. If you leave the drapes open, you can wake to incredible sunrises over the water from the king size bed. The staff and the owner who is on site are very friendly and helpful--getting us a different kind of pillow, lending us a spade to use at Hot Water Beach, making change so I could use the onsite laundry. We had an amazing time in Whitianga, and I can't imagine a better home base from which to explore all the great hikes and sites of the area than from this place. Btw, don't miss the hike to Cathedral Cove, the views are incredible!

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lauri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. It was great to have you stay with us and I am so happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us. It is always a pleasure for us to take care of guest needs. I hope you had a fabulous rest of your trip in New Zealand too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Admiralty Lodge Motel is across the road from Buffalo Beach and about 15 minutes' walk to the town. We had a Spa apartment and the standard of our accommodation was excellent. Very spacious and modern - bedroom with comfortable large bed, a separate living room with sofas, flat screen TV, small desk and modern furnishings, and large glass doors that opened out on to a roomy paved outdoor area with table and chairs. The bathroom had a spa bath and was luxuriously appointed with generous supplies of toiletries. We also had a full kitchen that included a dishwasher. Everything was immaculately clean.
Ambuj, the manager, was extremely helpful and approachable and obviously strives to provide every possible comfort for his guests.
The Spa apartments are on the ground floor, so sometimes there was a bit of noise from the car park when people drove in and out, but generally this was infrequent and didn't bother us much.

Room tip: We highly recommend the spaciousness and comfort of the King Spa accommodation.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad you had a pleasant stay. We try our best to provide a clean and comfortable environment, so our guests can relax and enjoy. I am delighted to hear about your experience and hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Thanks to the management for providing such a beautiful, spotlessly clean room. We stayed with friends on the spur of the moment, booked two rooms and received great, friendly, helpful service. Rooms were so large with comfortable beds and the breakfast provided was great.
thank you we would book again next time. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Ground floor spa rooms were great !
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It is great to know that your experience with us was positive and of course it was our pleasure to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Accomodated straight away with another fold out bed for our youngest child and then the kids were straight into the pool, great pool, really good size and soo warm, and the 3 hole mini golf was another activity the kids loved. The room was clean and full of everything you would need, so no need to pack extra blankets or kitchen utensils. Right across the road from the beach and a 10min walk to the Whitianga town so nice and close. We loved Masti (Ambuj's) wee dog and would have quite happily have taken him home. Economic and clean which are two things that dont often go hand in hand at affordable accomodation but at the Admiralty they do. Lovely time.

Room tip: Ask for the spa bath and the lower rooms have direct access to the pool
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiths353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

I am so happy to know that the kids had a good time with us. Masti also enjoys entertaining our guests and I need him here to keep it going. You all should come back, stay here again and play with him as much as you want and he will gladly oblige.

Thank you for comments and it was pleasure for us to have you stay here at the lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Arriving in Whiti with no accommodation booked I am glad we ended up here. An awesome room on the ground level with sliding glass doors out opening onto the deck. Room was spotless and very comfortable with plenty of room. Right across the road is the gorgeous beach perfect for a early morning walk or swim. Good parking and welcoming staff made our stay perfect in every way.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It is great to know that you enjoyed the facility and likewise it was our pleasure to have you as our guest at the lodge. I have shared your positive comments with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews