We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious, comfortable, beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very spacious, comfortable, beautiful view”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Huge apartment, well equipped, lovely bathroom, massive balcony, helpful staff. We stayed here two nights and were very comfortable. We did have to use the car to reach the restaurants but perhaps if we had had more time we would have walked although it would have been a fair way. Worth bearing in mind. We recommend.

Room Tip: First floor looking out to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    66
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
155
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

As well as the above being true the views out over Mercury Bay and the islands are just fantastic, and we were in a 1 Bedroom downstairs apartment - the view from the upstairs Studios can only be better.

The apartment is very well equipped with a decent sized fridge / freezer, oven, microwave, and plenty of cooking equipment. The dish washer was a real bonus as we ate in more than most couples would - the views made it easy not to go out.

The new owner is a fantastically helpful and friendly man, seemingly with all the time in the world to help his guests. We appreciated the advice he gave us - and everyone should visit 'The Lost Spring.' Great place for lunch too.

We recommend this property to everyone, and we shall be back to stay again ourselves.

Room Tip: 109 in the corner is quiet and also more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaiyanandHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Friendly staff but this place could do with a makeover. I stayed in an upstairs studio room. It was a good size with a balcony. The kitchenette must have been 20 years old, it was wooden with old appliances. The bathroom was also dated. Im not a fan of standing in a bath to shower and strangely, the toilet was hung on the wall about 20 cms higher than it should be.
Old leather sofas were in the unit and a strange set up with a curtain around the bed. However the bed was large and very comfortable and the bathrobes were great. The towels are old and thin. The downstairs one bedroom units did look as if they had a modernised kitchen Not somewhere i would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodTriptips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I can highly recommend this motel which deserves its' 5 stars. It has a beautiful setting and it was a delight to sit on the terrace in front of our room looking over the immaculate gardens to the gorgeous Mercury Bay.
Another point of difference is that the motel had two couches in the lounge - most motels only have spare beds to sit on.
We had a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor. All appliances including dishwasher were new and the apartment was spotless. No sign of wear and tear at all.
The only downside was the loo which was way too high, and wedged too close to the spa bath.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynVAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I was so glad to find this place thanks to Trip Advisor.
I then went to their web page and made use of one of their 2012 B & B packages.
Stayed in a first floor studio mid April, we had booked for 5 nights but stayed the extra night just to go again to the 'Lost Spring'
The studio accommodation is exactly as described, well equipped, even a dishwasher, clean spacious & has beautiful sea views.
The all year round pool is a welcome bonus as I love swimming.
Added touches like the bath robes are also very welcome.
Plenty of towels even for the pool, saves having to ask all the time.
I do agree with the other comments about the wall hung loo being quite high, especially as I'm quite short, but minor detail.
The new owner is nice and friendly, loved the puppy!
Can't wait to go again!
The 'Lost Spring' is a must and enhanced our holiday, see my review & photos for more on TLS.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Driving along the beautiful coastline of Whitianga, the Admiralty Lodge Motel caught our eye. From the road it appears to be big enough that they may have rooms available on spec, but small enough to offer a more personal level of service.

Rolling up mid morning with our battlebus, (a very underpowered and extremely uncomfortable camper van) it was nice to see that there was plenty of easy to access parking that would not involve me having to fight the cumbersome vehicle into a tight space.

The owner and team were busy cleaning the rooms, but were only too happy to oblige with booking us in and letting us choose from the available accommodation. Rates were lower than we were expecting, for the equivalent standard. At their recommendation, we selected one of the ground floor units that were suitable for 3-4 people as a family. Coming through the door into the self contained, fully equipped kitchen area and massive lounge, we were immediately greeted by the stunning views through the double patio doors onto the lodge's pool area with Buffalo Beach as an amazing backdrop. Our unit had a large master bedroom with 2 single beds around the edge of the lounge area. The Lounge itself had 2 huge leather sofas, a stereo and a large flat screen tv with dvd player. Opening the double doors took you outside to a raised patio with table, chairs and large umbrella, with steps down to the outside walk.
The pool area was fenced off with child safe gates and the pool was very well maintained and oh so welcoming in the heat of summer.

The owners have gone to a lot of trouble to provide maps, local information and even take away / delivery menu's from the village.

The lodge is on the outskirts of the town and not really walking distance in the heat, but this is a very minor point. I would happily come back to this lodge and use it as a driving base for exploring more of the coromandel peninsula.

Room Tip: The downstairs units each have their own patio, the upstairs units have a sun room. The sunrises ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san marcos
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have to say that this motel is one of the if not the best place we have stayed in on our tour of New Zealand! The room was beautiful and very clean, it even was full of loads of extras (dvd player,full kitchen w/ oven, dishwasher..ect,) that other hotels fail to even have as an option. The view was beautiful and the staff was very lovely. the staff were there to help at any moment and were genuinly good people. If your looking for a place to stay at while visiting the coromandel, look no further. you will find all you want and more at the admiralty lodge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernando c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Property: Admiralty Lodge Motel
Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing