We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best for honeymoon!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiralty Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Best for honeymoon!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This lodge was reccomended by a very good friend. Our suite was on the second floor, balcony overlooking the shore, the view was to die for. The room was huge and well furnished and equipped. The spa was awesome. The atmosphere was so soothing and comfortable. Even the toileteries were very high end, kithcen had all the utensils for the ones who like to cook at home. We cant imagine staying any where else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    65
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
151
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had a whole kitchen - with dishwasher and all! Great to have a dvd player, we took movies up with us. Really nice place to stay, staff nice and made sure we had lots of milk and cookies!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank aiden_lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Fantastic units looking out over Mercury Bay and sitting on the front patio every morning in the glorious sunshine and uninterupted viewing of the scenery made our stay. Room was fantistic and is certainly the 5 star they deem to be. 2 leather couches for comfort and all the mod cons to make it feel like home away from home.
As a motelier in Tauranga i was very impressed on the facilities on our rare few days break away. Loved the water featured garden and the lightly heated pool.
2 very small issues are the tv reception was a little poor which made the channel watching very limited and the plumbing system. As we were on the ground floor the noise from when someone used the shower upstairs was like a 747 airplane flying over.
Sorry Andrea & Keith but had to mention those. We will definately be back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Spent over a week in Whitianga over Christmas/New Year period and stayed at the Admiralty Lodge Motel. The place is fabulous and actually delivered what their advertisement says. The room we had was essentially a 1 bedroom suite with kitchenette, bathroom and comfortable lounge area with a patio facing the heated swimming pool and beach. The place was full throughout due to the time of year (and one or two nights our neightbours were noisy but thats to be expected over New Years). We slept exceptionally well in the large king size bed and we were able to have breakfast in our room or on our patio every day \beause the kitchenette had cutlery, crockery etc and a good size Fridge.
The room was serviced every day and the people were very friendly.
We did notice a sign outside suggesting the motel may be for sale so hopefully the new owners deliver the same excellent service that is currently offerred.

Free parking is available on the premises and the room we were in was definitely of a high standard - very clean and modern.

The motel is located a fair distance from the town centre...but we walked into town every day for dinner (flat road all the way) and after a hearty meal a 10 minute walk was a good thing.

We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Whitianga.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face the sea. Ours was in the centre on the bottom level - which made access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWGH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

When I walked into the office the receptionist at Admiralty Lodge greeted me with "you must be Jenny".... that's when I thought "Top Marks"..... and everything about this motel warranted the same rating. Quoting from my diary "our room is A1super, with everything as promised" (this comment because I had emailed with some special requirements). I continued "we have a wonderful sea view and the motel gardens are most attractive", and later in my diary, "once again this motel continues to please, with a good access bathroom, and the shower itself, plus soaps/gels etc are top class". I would add that the suite was spacious (2 lounges, generous sitting area) and the beds were very comfortable, with nice quality bed linen. We plan to return.....asap.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had heard good things about this motel, so booked a 2-night romantic weekend away. Nice room, but I did notice a strong smell of Asian cooking in our unit as soon as we walked in to it, which kept me awake most of the night as it was quite strong. We were staying for 2 nights and the smell wasn't so noticeable the next night - so perhaps I had just gotten used to it? Unit was clean, and the view from the 1st floor balcony was lovely to wake up to. Huge bed. Had to laugh at the unusally high wall-mounted toilet though? A friend had told us about this but we didn't believe him until we each had to sit on it - I'm only 5'2" so my feet were dangling ha ha! Unusual shower controls, never seen anything like them so took a bit of working out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent just one night here on our Rugby World Cup Trip and just wished we could of stayed longer. The room was enormous and very well equipped with large kitchen, living and sleeping area and the bathroom was great with the spa bath and robes provided. We were on the first floor and had a wonderful view out to sea. Sky Sport was a real bonus for us as we could watch other World Cup matches. I cannot recommend Admiralty Lodge highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
11.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Property: Admiralty Lodge Motel
Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing