We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Aotearoa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aotearoa Lodge
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our first thought on arriving at Aotearoa Lodge was that it was a bit far out of town. Our impression changed after our welcoming check-in, and a chance to look at the lovely garden surroundings. Lynette gave us easy directions into town & great recommendations as to where to dine. We wanted to go to see Cathedral Cove & Darryl organised this for us without a problem. It was so peaceful & quiet, had the best nights sleep. We had a one bedroom villa, nice & roomy, very clean. Bathroom was huge compared to other places we stayed & we both commented on the towels being softer than most motels. Breakfast was included, yoghurt, fruit, tea, coffee, toast, selection of jams & the yummiest honey I have ever tasted! Darryl told me where to go buy some to take home with me! As we were heading of on our boat trip early morning we checked out & left all our luggage in the office & on our return to collect them, Darryl loaded the car for us. Wonderful stay & delightful, friendly hosts. We look forward to going back there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi Little journey thank you so much for your review. Darryl and i would like to thank you for staying with us at Aotearoa Lodge and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
All the very best
Darryl & Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

I must say that our impression of the Aotearoa Lodge was somewhat influenced by the pouring rain and driving, cold wind the evening of our stay. The tranquil setting was lost on us and our time outside was limited to running to the car and later back to the hotel entrance and the location became just inconvenient with a bit of a drive to the area restaurants. The room itself was fairly large and clean but otherwise basic except for the bed which was great. It was very comfortable with fine sheeting; we had a great nights sleep. The bathroom was similarly large and clean but my morning shower was interrupted by an on and off drop in water pressure. We tried to do some laundry in the evening but the dryer after two runs was not up to the job. We ended up taking the wet clothes into the town to finish them at a Laundromat. Daryl was friendly and very helpful in finding us a very nice restaurant and making a reservation for us for dinner and his helper, Zoe, was also very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was very good. It is too bad we didn't have better weather to enjoy our visit to Whitianga.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrillerBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi thank you so much for taking the time to review Aotearoa Lodge.
Yes the weather puts a damper on things and places, people are aways happier when the sun is shining. I was away at the time of your visit and are pleased Zoe looked after you.
Many Thanks
Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our first taste of Kiwi hospitality after getting off the plane in Auckland, and it vastly exceeded all our expectations. The lodgings were spacious and comfortable, set in a lush little park of subtropical/temperate trees and flowers, with constant birdsong--so peaceful! Daryl and Lynette were absolutely wonderful hosts, very helpful and informative. We had a lovely few days' stay.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family the self-catering suites of rooms are excellent and very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hi Linda, Darryl and I would like to thank you for your very kind words.
I hope you have enjoyed your visit to New Zealand and have taken home lots of memories.
Lets hope that you will return to New zealand again.
All the very best
Lynette / Darryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our 4th night in New Zealand and our 3rd motel. We arrived after a long day at 6.40pm. Our studio room was very clean and attractive being furnished to a high standard. Facilities include the most comfortable bed so far on this trip, an iron and ironing board, a verandah with decorative wooden chairs all set in a quiet location just out of town. We were disappointed to find no kitchenette in our room. There was access to a shared facility in the guest lounge which we decided not to use. As we had arrived fairly close to reception closing time (7.00pm) we did not find out how helpful the owners were until the following day. WiFi access was difficult but solved by being lent an extender. The one area we have concerns about is the sound insulation. Our first morning we were woken at 6.15 by people in neighbouring room(s) walking, closing doors and showering. Strangely we did not hear talking. Both neighbouring rooms were vacant on our second night.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hi John thank you so much for your great review. The job is made easy with wonderful people like your self.
I hope that the rest off your stay in New Zealand was pleasurableAll the best
Lynette / Darryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our tour of the Coromandel Peninsula and stay at Aotearoa Lodge was incredibly enjoyable. Lynette and Daryl are extremely hospitable and friendly. The accommodation was most comfortable and breakfast generous. We were given a personal tour of the area by Lynette and Daryl - both very informed guides. The tour called "A Taste of Coromandel" included pick-up and drop-off at our Auckland hotel. We cannot speak too highly of our experience. Thanks again Lynette and Daryl.

Room Tip: Rooms opening on to the front deck are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Hi Peter, Margaret,
Thank you so much for you really nice review. As you know you are only as good as what your customer are and you and Margaret are really great couple. Darryl and I would like to thank you so much for traveling with Aotearoa Tours,
Many Thanks
Darryl & Darryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very friendly welcome.Given answers to all the important questions before we even asked them.Shown personally to accommodation not just given keys as is the norm.Close to the beach.Whole family enjoyed Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises operated by Darryl very friendly owner.Went on the 8:30 cruise loved it.Will recommend it to friends.Carry on giving great service.

Miriam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hi Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay and i am pleased you enjoyed the boat trip. Darryl said thank you for the beer.
Regards Lynette / Darryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a long drive to the motel two of our party are disabled (had informed golden chain) the first room was up three steps that the person in the wheelchair found this extremely difficult, the second rooms was up a ramp the disabled room for the two disabled people and another room not connected for me to stay in! Then the owner show us another room that the managers normally stay in it was on the flat but had a bath. It was for four people and only had a sofa for two no pans bowls to cook with etc. Two of the beds were in one room and another in the corridor between the living area and the bathroom. One of the disabled guest struggled with the bath and almost fell over the water went on the floor and we tried to clean it up only to discover the floor was very dirty! I woke up with bits from the bed! We were offered the cathedral in the cove tour (ran by the motel) we declined it as we had been recommended the glass bottom boat trip by two other companies, more suitable for disabled guests we made our way to the wharf and Daryll said "you will get hammered out their it is rough" we enjoyed our cruise on the glass bottom boat and did not get sea sick. We packed up and left the owner did not even ask why! We were due to stay another night.
In our opinion this is not Gold we found the accommodation very dirty and the bed had bed bugs that had a feast on me.

Room Tip: Do not stay if disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

A very disappointing and inaccurate review. I really do feel we tried our very best to accommodate your needs. If we had of known you required wheelchair access at the time your booking came through of course we would have ensured you had the appropriate rooms. I do not find it fair to blame us for the communication breakdown between yourself and Golden Chain. The minute we were made aware of your requirements we went out of our way to find another option that would suit. Let me state at this point at no point during your stay did I see anyone in a wheelchair so I am unsure why you have indicated this was the case. Only walking sticks were used. I acknowledge the solution was not perfect but was the best we could offer at the last minute. You were clearly upset from the moment you arrived (understandably so after such a long drive) however no matter what we did or said you could not be satisfied. Please accept we were not the people that recommended you travel so far in one day but for whatever reason we seem to be the ones receiving the bad review. We are very proud of our business and will go out of our way to ensure our guest are comfortable and happy as many of our guests have commented on in the past. The mere suggestion we were anything but is offensive. As far as your damaging comments about ‘bed bugs’ you are WRONG. Our property is and has always been very clean and tidy and has only just past the Qualmark Inspection. I appreciate you must have invested a lot of time and money in your holiday and am sorry you felt so badly you had to write this review but I do NOT feel you have been truthful and fair.
Thank you
Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.9 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotearoa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotearoa Lodge

Address: 70 Racecourse Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: $96 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aotearoa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aotearoa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing