We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Aotearoa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aotearoa Lodge
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very friendly welcome.Given answers to all the important questions before we even asked them.Shown personally to accommodation not just given keys as is the norm.Close to the beach.Whole family enjoyed Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises operated by Darryl very friendly owner.Went on the 8:30 cruise loved it.Will recommend it to friends.Carry on giving great service.

Miriam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hi Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay and i am pleased you enjoyed the boat trip. Darryl said thank you for the beer.
Regards Lynette / Darryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 118 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a long drive to the motel two of our party are disabled (had informed golden chain) the first room was up three steps that the person in the wheelchair found this extremely difficult, the second rooms was up a ramp the disabled room for the two disabled people and another room not connected for me to stay in! Then the owner show us another room that the managers normally stay in it was on the flat but had a bath. It was for four people and only had a sofa for two no pans bowls to cook with etc. Two of the beds were in one room and another in the corridor between the living area and the bathroom. One of the disabled guest struggled with the bath and almost fell over the water went on the floor and we tried to clean it up only to discover the floor was very dirty! I woke up with bits from the bed! We were offered the cathedral in the cove tour (ran by the motel) we declined it as we had been recommended the glass bottom boat trip by two other companies, more suitable for disabled guests we made our way to the wharf and Daryll said "you will get hammered out their it is rough" we enjoyed our cruise on the glass bottom boat and did not get sea sick. We packed up and left the owner did not even ask why! We were due to stay another night.
In our opinion this is not Gold we found the accommodation very dirty and the bed had bed bugs that had a feast on me.

Room Tip: Do not stay if disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

A very disappointing and inaccurate review. I really do feel we tried our very best to accommodate your needs. If we had of known you required wheelchair access at the time your booking came through of course we would have ensured you had the appropriate rooms. I do not find it fair to blame us for the communication breakdown between yourself and Golden Chain. The minute we were made aware of your requirements we went out of our way to find another option that would suit. Let me state at this point at no point during your stay did I see anyone in a wheelchair so I am unsure why you have indicated this was the case. Only walking sticks were used. I acknowledge the solution was not perfect but was the best we could offer at the last minute. You were clearly upset from the moment you arrived (understandably so after such a long drive) however no matter what we did or said you could not be satisfied. Please accept we were not the people that recommended you travel so far in one day but for whatever reason we seem to be the ones receiving the bad review. We are very proud of our business and will go out of our way to ensure our guest are comfortable and happy as many of our guests have commented on in the past. The mere suggestion we were anything but is offensive. As far as your damaging comments about ‘bed bugs’ you are WRONG. Our property is and has always been very clean and tidy and has only just past the Qualmark Inspection. I appreciate you must have invested a lot of time and money in your holiday and am sorry you felt so badly you had to write this review but I do NOT feel you have been truthful and fair.
Thank you
Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Wow what a great place. we travelled with a another family so their where 9 of us and we all loved it. It was so beautiful and quiet and plenty of room for the kids to play.
What about Darryl's boat BEST TRIP EVER and we got to see a seal just loved it.
We will definitely be back and have told so many of our friends to go.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvlonGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi Brett thank you so much for a wonderful review. It was really great meeting you guys, i hope you all had a rememberable trip in NZ Darryl say hi.
Thank you
Lynette / Darryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

After touring round it was bliss to book into a quiet location such as this. The owners were friendly and helpful and, when I had problems with the internet connection, did all that they could to help. Gentle walk to the beach but transport definitely needed of going into the town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi Jan Thank you so much for spending the time to review Aotearoa Lodge.
I am so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Lets hope we will have the pleasure to meet again.
Thank you
Lynette / Darryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A real gem of a place to stay. We lived in the Standard Studio for a night. Neat and tidy and appropriately located very close to Mercury Bay. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The boat trip to Cathedral Cove with Daryll was the highlight of our trip and we would love to return for a longer duration soon. We took the condensed tour of the Cathedral Cove and Orua Caves. The moment Daryll pulled the ship into the Orua cave, I was transferred into absolute bliss! Thanks a lot Darryll and family for making our weekend trip so memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirishaAchanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review . We welcome your feed back.
I hope your enjoyed your stay on the Coromandel.
Thank you Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Although we did not stay at the Aotearoa Lodge, we will when we return! Darryl was our guide for 3 days while we visited the Coromandel Peninsula. We could not have found anyone better. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute we spent with him. He made sure to personalize our tour and take us places he knew we would enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillisgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi Mr and Mrs Gillis thank you so much for a wonderful review.
It was a great pleasure meeting you and having the opportunity to show of our beautiful coast and country. We hope to look forward to meeting your son on his journey around New Zealand.
Thanking you

Darryl and Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A absolutely fantastic place to stay in Whitianga. Very friendly owners and they will go the extra mile to make your stay pleasurable and memorable. Very clean and comfortable units, excellent facilities. I had a superb time up north and would highly recommend the Lodge to other people travelling to Whitianga. The owners of the Lodge also run the Scenic Cruises to Cathedral Cove, a very worthwhile trip to make, it had that Wow! factor, I just loved the whole trip. I had a brilliant time away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.9 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotearoa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotearoa Lodge

Address: 70 Racecourse Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: $96 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aotearoa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aotearoa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing