We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aotearoa Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Makona Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Endeavour Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
44
48
25
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
48
25
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswell stocked kitchenquiet locationcontinental breakfastcathedral covehot showertwin bedsnice place to staynew ownersshort drivetown centrestay there againgood sizeaccommodationnzdeckingsinkrotorua
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 125 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived late after a long day of travel. Daryl was very nice upon check in, made us feel right at home. Stayed two nights and enjoyed the hotel and location very much. Took the Cathedral Cove boat tour which was fun. Decided to hike there as well

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lv2TravelDelafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We only stayed one night as we were trying to see as much of NZ as we could. We were pleasantly surprised, on arrival at Aotearoa Lodge, to have been upgraded to a self contained unit. It was so spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean! The owners arranged for Barbara to check us in as they were away but I met Darryl on our departure. They were both very helpful and friendly. We had planned to cook own own meal but ended up having a lovely meal in town at the Blue Ginger Restaurant. We wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Arrived 10 May 2012 to this quiet, spacious garden location. We were immediately made welcome by Lyn who greated us on arrival.

The accommodation was well appointed, clean with a great guest lounge.

An acitivty that we participated in was the "Cathederal Cove Scenic Cruise". Our captian was Darryl who had great knowledge of the area, this is a worthwhile activity.

Would recommend this location as a holiday destination.

Maree & Lou Kapeller

Room Tip: Take on the experience, quiet location. Only 1 km from the beach and 3 km from town centre
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loukapeller k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

When we first arrived I hated it, dropped the luggage & went out to find somewhere else. It was so dreadfully old fashioned, not at all what we had become used to on our 6 week tour of Australia & New Zealand. Next morning, with fresh eyes, I realised how wrong I had been. Yes, it is old fashioned, but that is part of its beauty. The owners are lovely, & one of their mum's was always busy in the breakfast room. but never too busy to chat to you & make you feel welcome. The breakfast was very nice. The owner told us that the rooms are soon to be refurbished, but I hope that the uniqueness of the place is not lost.

Room Tip: Just bask in the 50's style of the place.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Can not beat the peaceful outlook, spotless rooms, all the facililites you need to a perfect stay, the hosts Lynette & Darryl could not be friendlier and really seem to love what they do, and the bonus is you can organise a tour or boat trip wit Darryl to see all the awesome sights and marine life of the Coromandel Peninsula. We would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbyandRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews