We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gastronomical Fusion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ginger

Blue Ginger
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Polynesian, Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Blue Ginger Kitchen is a casual eatery featuring fresh, vibrant Polynesian Asian Flavours cooked by a small team of passionate chefs. Dine-in or Takeout in our Blacksmith Lane Kitchen. Blue Ginger Catering are wedding & event specialists, catering in the greater Mercury Bay area for 12 years.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Gastronomical Fusion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Best surprise in Whitianga.
Super chill, relaxed, comfy environment with plenty to look at and a diverse but not crowded menu (written on the wall, which I like)
Smoked fish won tons were incredible, as was the calamari (hard to find cooked so well), my partner had the Buddha salad which looked as good as it seemed to taste.
I want to go back, try everything and sit in another of the three different seating arrangements.
When your in Whitianga plan to come here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank josswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    39
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Our favourite eating place in Whitianga!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Food absolutely delicious, fresh, full of flavour and passion! Great music, nice vibes and a very chilled out atmosphere. Fantastic service, nothing a problem and very friendly! Best coffee in town and just the best blueberry smoothies. Freshly made donuts with custard and cream on Friday's at lunchtime! Get in quick! A must go to when here and very good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is more a cafe for casual dining than a restaurant. Relaxed atmosphere, music just the right volume. After reading all the good reviews, a group of us decided to have lunch here on a cold, winter's day. We were all disappointed. The waitress was friendly but the all the food was only luke warm and seemed as though it had been pre-cooked then reheated, and not reheated well, though the waitress did say it was all freshly cooked. It was also served on cold plates. To their credit, we were offered a small discount.
I will probably try this place again to see if our complaint has been listened too. If it improves, I will report accordingly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTraveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
164 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Thai Inspired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Enjoyed a quick meal here. We were dining fairly late, but the owner/chef? didn't seem to mind, very friendly. The food was delicious, we had the pork & fennel dumplings & pork belly dish. The only downside for us,is that no alcohol is available

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hokimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Thai food with a personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We only managed to get here once in the end, but the food was supreme - fresh, tasty, healthy and wholesome. It's also a cute little place with the friendly owner seemingly doing all the work herself. It is really good value too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Finst4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ginger also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Blue Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing