We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views and excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercury Bay Estate

Mercury Bay Estate
Ranked #7 of 29 things to do in Whitianga
Attraction details
Tauranga, NZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We caught the ferry across from Whtianga and were picked up by a local shuttle driver who took us up to the winery. We chose to taste all their wines for a set price. It was so beautiful sitting up at the winery overlooking the bay. I could have stayed there all afternoon!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michellen_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    35
    13
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“"Beautiful Surroundings"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great view while relaxing over a glass of wine and cheese platter!! The young lady serving us was very helpful as we chose gifts for our friends and family. We would definitely recommend anyone visiting this estate!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkB2484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views, but food and wine average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went for lunch. Food-wise, they only had cold meat/seafood/dip platters which was average. We also had the wine tasting (choose 4 wines for $12). The wines were not bad. Overall, OK for a visit if you're in the area, probably better at morning-tea or afternoon-tea time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SCF_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow what a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great platters, great wine, great service, what more could you ask for. They even picked us up from the ferry terminal ! Thanks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

As it was a wet day, it was suggested we take the drive to Mercury Bay Estate. It was worth it, it has a lovely outlook
with views over the vines and a view of the ocean. We had a great cheese platter with lovely fresh bread, local cheeses & fruits and a paddle of 4 wines selected from a large variety. The manager was very friendly and very helpful with information regarding our onward journey into Auckland. The view would even be better on a sunny day, but you would definitely have the crowds, as it's a very popular tourist attraction.

Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercury Bay Estate also viewed

 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mercury Bay Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing