We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top attraction”

Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises
Ranked #3 of 19 Tours in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boat tour cruise of Cathedral Cove, Cooks Beach, Hahei, marine reserve, caves and beaches. includes swimming and snorkelling if conditions suit
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Lots of fun, local knowledge impressive. Very close to the sea life with underwater camera and also the boating skills were top class with getting us close into the caves and surrounding areas. Very rough sea once we got round the point so trip was cut short - never felt unsafe at any stage. We were offered a partial refund but because of the enjoyment we had, we felt we already had value for money and declined. Excellent value for money!

Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thanks, it was a shame we didn't get to the rest of the tour that day some days it just happens. We will always try and give value for the tour and we predicate you not accepting our partial refund offer. We are also thrilled to receive the latest 2014 excellence award from trip advisor. Great reviews like yours are the life of our business. Thanks again Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 327 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

Big thanks to Ken, captain and tour guide on what was a great day on the water. Everything from geology, sight seeing and marine life - including underwater camera and seal spotting.

Highly recommend to those wanting to get out on (or in) the water, complete with sea caves and of course Cathedral Cove itself.

Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thanks for the review , it was a good day but a little rough from memory. A good sea always provides some great photo shots. I hope your travel continues safely. Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a wonderful trip exploring the caves and sights of Cathedral Cove with the enigmatic Ken on this tour. His insightful and entertaining commentary and great expertise about all the local attractions made for a wonderful experience. The day was perfect out on the water and the added bonus of seeing a seal and the underwater camera action made it unforgettable. Would highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to get up close with the gorgeous scenery at Cathedral cove.

Thank EvaFromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Yes the winter touring has been awesome so far. You picked the perfect weather and the water clarity was fantastic. Always a bonus to sea some of the local wildlife. Thanks for the fabulous review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

It was relaxing, informative, exciting, great value for money, and most importantly fun. The level of knowledge that Ken shared, and the service that our family and friends received was absolutely amazing.

The snorkeling was an awesome experience, and the gear we borrowed was brilliant.

I have called Whitianga home for over 30 years and this is definitely one of the best things I have done in Mercury Bay.

Thank you Ken and Lesley, we all loved every single minute ☺!!!

1  Thank Sharontwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Wow thanks Sharon great review. We love the family days and really love giving the children something to remember. The trip is really great for birthdays and family events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic trip and sight seeing. Excellant and knowledgeable commentary from Ken as well as good value.

Thank Rod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thanks for the great review. The winter touring has been great, lovely sunny days and crystal clear waters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing