We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome boat trip”

Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises
Ranked #3 of 19 Tours in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boat tour cruise of Cathedral Cove, Cooks Beach, Hahei, marine reserve, caves and beaches. includes swimming and snorkelling if conditions suit
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome boat trip”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Five of us were able to be accommodated on such short notice which was already quite fantastic. The boat ride itself was incredible. The jet boat rushed towards big swells which caused the boat to jump a few times and steal a few screams and laughter from us. It took us to landmark sights like the famous Cathedral Cove. Darryl, the skipper was incredibly friendly and informative. For the price you pay this experience is a complete steal!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Edric thats for your review. The last 2 days on the water have been quite exciting with the waves
it certainly adds to the thrill of the trip. So please your family enjoyed our coast.

Many Thanks Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent trip”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Did this trip on the spur of the moment and how thankful we were. I'm not too keen on being on the water but felt perfectly safe in this craft, especially when told that it used to be a rescue vessel. There were only 4 of us on board so plenty of room. Darryl was very attentive and a jovial host. Many thanks for a 'not to be missed trip'.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review Alison sometimes the things we do in the spear of the moment are our most memorable. I am so pleased you have enjoyed your crusies around to Cathedral Cove.

Many Thanks Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Bersac, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb trip”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Cannot recommend our skipper highly enough, so informative and interesting. he took us into many little caves. The boat is comfortable and because we numbered only four we were seated in the bow. fantastic!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boss162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. You got the best seats aboard the scenery is wonderful
an the it has been a great summer out on the water this year.
Hope your NZ trip went well.

Many Thanks Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent trip”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Daryl took us to various coves , it was a great trip. We took lot of snaps. He fed fishes and took us inside the cove. It is a must do, if you want to visit cathedral cove..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dhisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. This is a great trip to take those special snap shots of our wonderful coast hope you also enjoyed the rest of you trip.

Many Thanks Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic & Exhilerating”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a trip this is. We are two thirds into a 6 month tour of NZ and this is the best yet. The boat is pretty fast and we were lucky enough to get the seats in the bow, definitely the place to be. The trip took us around the fantastic coastline, pulling in 'Cathedral Cove' and a variety of other spots whose names I cant remember. We went inside sea caves, saw Snappers up close and a host of other things. The Skipper is absolutely brilliant really friendly and a great sense of humour. If you are in Whitianga, you have got to do this. Thank you Daryl for a memorable 2+ hours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette010, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. Really pleased that you had a good cruises. We do have a very special coast.

Many Thanks Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing