We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have to do this !!”

Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore some of the Coromandels most specular coast line including Cathedral Cove. Get close to the stunning volcanic rock formations, pinnacles and sea caves. What sets us above the rest is we take your below to explore the under water world of the Marine Reserve. Spot many different species of fish plus crayfish, stingrays, octopus, kinna and more. Watch the marine life through the glass in the comfort of the cabin or take the plunge and experience sensational snorkeling with equipment provided. Our experienced crew will entertain you with a fun commentary enriched with history and information on the area. Our mammal watch permit allows us to view dolphins and orcas when they visit.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“You have to do this !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

What a fantastic and memorable day out we had. Thanks Mark and Laura for making it the highlight of our trip to NZ.
We were blessed with perfect weather and were fortunate enough to have picked a day when we were able to spend time with probably 50 or more dolphins ,who happily entertained us for about an hour. What an experience !!
The scenery was breathtaking and the snorkelling AMAZING. Our children (17,15 and12 ) have not stopped talking about the awesome day they had.
THANK YOU. (Thorowgood's)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manlysurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Hayley J, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hello Thorowgood Family,

Thank you for the amazing review and for the GoPro footage of the day. The footage is great and really shows how beautiful the day with the dolphins was. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.

Kind Regards,

Hayley and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    44
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Trip on 22 January 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a great boat trip, it is great value for money and the crew are very friendly and helpful. They have a lot of local knowledge and do everything they can to make your trip great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Hayley J, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Debbie,

Thank you for your awesome review and for the kind words to the crew. They work hard at their jobs and have a wonderful passion for this area! We are glad you enjoyed your trip on the Glass Bottom Boat.

Kind Regards,

Hayley and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The staff here were the most outstanding attribute. They were friendly and knowledgeable.

The lady staff member even went to the lengths for one of our group and dived and got some kina's!!

Great value and an awesome time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Westie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Hayley J, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your awesome review! We are glad that your enjoyed your trip on the Glass Bottom Boat. We have a great team, who work hard and love their jobs. I will sure your kind review is shared with them.

Kind Regards,

Hayley and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family do this every year on their trip to the Coromandal- they managed to drag my fiancé and I along this time and we are so glad we went! Dan and Scott were awesome, so friendly and knowledgable. We followed a pod of dolphins for a while which was an amazing experience and the snorkelling was amazing I planned to sit it out as im not a big fan of swimming in the middle of the ocean but felt so safe that I threw myself in and had a blast! Was a truly amazing experience and we will be joining my family again next January,

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Machaihay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Hayley J, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your very awesome review. Well done on taking the leap and going for a snorkel, its great fun and great snorkeling along the coastline! Your trip sounded amazing with the dolphins. We do hope to see you and your family again next year :)

Kind Regards,

Hayley and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a fabulous trip. We were lucky enough to have a perfect weather day and we were blown away by the views. The guides were very knowledgeable and great characters. They really made the trip memorable. We loved snorkelling, but take a warm top for the trip back, it's cold on the open boat when you are wet! Oops! A great trip for people of all ages, the glass bottom was so captivating we almost forgot to look at the views!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nieci48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Hayley J, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Nieci,

Thank you for your awesome review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip and especially enjoyed the snorkeling. The water can be refreshing but its well worth it and great tip for others to bring something warm. We have fantastic crew members who put in a lot of effort so thanks for your lovely comment.

Kind Regards,

Hayley and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing