We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad way to spend the morning!”

Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore some of the Coromandels most specular coast line including Cathedral Cove. Get close to the stunning volcanic rock formations, pinnacles and sea caves. What sets us above the rest is we take your below to explore the under water world of the Marine Reserve. Spot many different species of fish plus crayfish, stingrays, octopus, kinna and more. Watch the marine life through the glass in the comfort of the cabin or take the plunge and experience sensational snorkeling with equipment provided. Our experienced crew will entertain you with a fun commentary enriched with history and information on the area. Our mammal watch permit allows us to view dolphins and orcas when they visit.
1 review
“Not a bad way to spend the morning!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I got the chance to do the 8 AM tour with the new owner Mark. On the way out to Cathedral Cove he gave great information about Mercury Bay. The water was calm and perfectly clear, so we got to see a lot of fish swimming under the glass. It was a bit cold to go snorkelling but will have to do that next time. Great value for money and I'm definitely going out again with then when I'm back in the coromandel. Thanks so much for a awesome adventure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBarnesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Hayley J, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your trip with us. The 8am tours is such a great trip as the sea is usually so calm and its a great way to start the day. Take care.

Thanks,

Mark and Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    44
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“awesome experience great fun”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

thanks alot dan and scott we all had a great time this was the best thing we've done all holidays. anyone thinking of doing this trip you should defenitly do it such a good experience
thanks
mcCaw and fentiman

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank McCaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Hayley J, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi McCaw and Fentiman Families

Thanks for your awesome review. We are glad you all enjoyed your trip on the boat and it was a highlight for your holiday.

Have a wonderful Christmas and New Years.

Kind Regards,

Mark and Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This tour was an absolutely amazing day! The weather as great, the tour guides were young, knowledgable, and entertaining. I thoroughly enjoy every aspect; Cathedral Cove was stunning. We saw a school of Blue Mou Mou through the glass, we saw blue penguins on the way home, The crew on board amazed us with their local knowledge, it was just great! The tour takes you to a huge sea cave that the boat can drive right in - we took some great pictures! We were even allowed to snorkel with the snapper in the fish reserve! So much fun - learning and seeing sights and creatures you wouldn't see anywhere else. A definite must-do event if you're in New Zealand! I am planning a return in March, and will probably do the whole tour a second time, just to share it with others!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Hayley J, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi Meredith,

Thank you for your awesome review. We are glad you found your trip exciting and knowledgeable. We would love to have you out a second time when you come back.

Regards,

Mark and Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Boat that ROCKED!!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

An immensely awe inspiring adventure. My partner and myself both found this to be the most wonderful way to explore the corramandel coastline and all of its beauty, from the tremendous cliffs, caves and sea stacks to the magnificent marine life swimming around and beneath the boat. We still smile when we look at our photos and remember how the skipper brought the coastline alive with his knowledge and explanations of this beautiful part of the world. Thank you!!
Regards,
J and Dona

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jarlath F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Hayley J, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi J and Dona,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you had a great trip and it was awesome to see you having fun jumping off all the rocks. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Thanks, Mark and Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“Honeymoon Heaven”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My new husband and I had a great suprise lined up in our apartment that our bridesmaid had organised with Hayley plus a beautiful bunch of flowers from the team at the Glass Bottom Boat. We had an amazing trip on the boat learning about the history of Coromandal and seeing the beautiful sights. My new husband was like a little boy in a candy store. Snorkeling was incredible experience and we were looked after like a King and Queen. Thank you for an excellent experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Hayley J, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi Greg and Renee,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad we could make your honeymoon experience one to remember. Best wishes.

Mark and Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Glass Bottom Boat Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing