We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, comfort plus and service with an absolute smile!”
Review of Bayview at 91

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview at 91
Ranked #1 of 41 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant, comfort plus and service with an absolute smile!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed with David and Dmitri the night before my wedding with my Bridesmaids in the Mercury Bay suite. We had a fantastic girls night in the lap of luxury! It was all such a treat...the Linden Leaves toiletries, the waterford crystal, big room, comfortable beds, deluxe bedding. Breakfast in the morning was superb, enjoyed in front of an amazing view.

I also stayed with them the next night for the wedding night in the Kupe Suite and this was a step up again! The room was absolute elegance and luxury! The bathroom was amazing, the bed was grand and the lounge area was crying out for us to stay there for so much longer!

David and Dmitri are the most gracious and caring hosts and pay such attention to every detail. They made the stay an experience I'll never forget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Joanna,
Thank you for your review of your stay with us on the eve of your Wedding to Dan, it was a joy that you and the girls enjoyed the run up and excitement of the day to come and to see you emerge from the Mercury Bay Suite in your beautiful Wedding Dress was a joy for us and our other guests. Then the arrival of your Dad in his amazing Cadillac Wow. As hosts we awaited your return with your new Husband Dan, to ensure you were as Mr & Mrs McIvor made comfortable in our Kupe Suite for your wedding night. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you both soon for a Romantic Weekend. Kind Regards David and Dmitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
177
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our room was specious, well equipped and very comfortable. Host David Hall leaves nothing to chance and his attention to detail is extraordinary. Co-host Dimitri was our tour guide and photographer for the day. He was knowledgeable and fun and showed us some truly beautiful spots. Amazing views over Whitianga and Mercury Bay. We spent over a month touring New Zealand and our stay at Bayview at 91 was the highlight of our trip. Everything was excellent the hosts, the room, the breakfast and the view. We shall be back. Catherine and Philip UK

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Catherine and Philip, Thank you both for the lovely review of your stay with us, by now you will be back in the UK which we see is having very cold weather so please keep warm and no slipping on the ice. It was a delight for Dmitri and I to look after you both during your stay and that enjoy your time and stay at Bayview 91. We look forward to seeing you both when you next visit New Zealand. Our kindest regards David and Dmitri - Bayview 91 Whitianga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My stay was short but none the less fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts David & Dmitri who were warm and friendly. They had superb knowledge of the immediate Whitianga area and greater New Zealand which is invaluable for all guests. The care and attention to detail is amazing and breakfast was impeccable. These hosts have a passion to make your visit memorable. In short if you are looking for a B & B in Whitianga then look no further than Bayview at 91.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Nigel,
Thank you for review and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed you all but brief stay with us and look forward to you returning someday soon. It is our wish that our guests from all over the World feel at home from the moment they arrive, but to enjoy their privacy and the stunning views that are so fortunate to share. Kind Regards David and Dmitri - Bayview at 91
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Bayview91 and it was a marvellous experience with the service and attention to detail the best I've come across. Great views from the lounge and excellent company from the other American visitors.

Room Tip: Kupe suite nice for great views of Mercury Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Alan
It was nice to see you return to stay and to bring your partner along, with the weather being perfect it was a nice weekend indeed. We look forward to seeing you both again someday soon - Our kind regards David and Dmitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We enjoyed three nights of beautiful views, wonderful wines, fabulous lush bedding and in addition to all that...Host David Hall was amazing in his attention to detail. Co-host Dmitri also was a delightful tour guide and photographer during our stay and we could have stayed in this pristine spot much longer. David also was travel planner extraordinnaire and thanks to him we experienced a wonderful 4 1/2 week trip to New Zealand. We hope to return some day. Jeanne and Dick Dent

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jndent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Dick and Jeanne, How lovely to hear from you and that you enjoyed your stay with us at Bayview 91. Always a joy to share our little piece of paradise with our guests from around the World and to know that had a wonderful time staying but also exploring the beauty that the Coromandel Peninsula has to offer. Many don't know that this was the very place that Captain Cook stepped foot onto New Zealand soil at Simpsons Beach Mercury Bay and where he observed the transit of Mercury on behalf King Geroge III and how Captain Cook named our bay Mercury Bay and which we and our guests enjoy today. In 2019 it will be the 250th Anniversary of Cooks arrival here and celebrations to mark this event are already underway. We wish you fond memories of New Zealand and that you will return some day again. Kind Regards David and Dmitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed in the Kupe Suite with my girlfriend for two nights. The Kupe Suite was well equipped, spacious, private and beautifully decorated. David and Dmitri were very friendly and welcoming to the extent that they cooked us food one evening. Very much enjoyed my stay at this luxury B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Tom and Emma, thank you for your kind review of your stay in our Kupe Suite and that you enjoyed your time with us in beautiful Whitianga overlooking Historic Mercury Bay. Due to your late arrival it was our pleasure to assist with dinner. We wish you both well with the remainder of your studies and that they will see you venture to the Pacific again someday soon. Kind Regards David and Dmitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a wonderful few days there. The hosts were excellent, the rooms were excellent & the breakfasts were excellent. We had a great stay. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. We would definitely stay again, if we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 738holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Jeffrey, Belinda, Noel and Lesley, It was our pleasure to look after you all on your visit to Whitianga, Our Best B&B stay yet is a lovely accolade to have received from you all and we are both delighted that you all enjoyed your stay in our Mercury Bay and Kupe Suites. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit/ Take care and once again our thanks for this lovely review. Kind Regards David and Dmitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
2.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
16.3 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
0.4 mi away
At Parkland Place
At Parkland Place
#3 of 41 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.5 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview at 91? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview at 91

Property: Bayview at 91
Address: 91 Centennial Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bayview at 91 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview at 91 Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation in Whitianga overlooks the Historic and stunning: Mercury Bay, offering a choice of three stylish and well appointed suites, each spacious and contemporary in their design and individual in their character. Our emphasis is on your comfort and relaxation with the personal touch that truly makes the difference and ensures a memorable stay. We look forward to Welcoming you to Bayview at 91. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview at 91 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing