We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite stay in NZ!”
Review of A Room With A View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Room With A View
Ranked #13 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite stay in NZ!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A room with a view was so perfect for our Coromandel trip! The location is perfect, close to many attractions, and to town. I was traveling with my parents, and there was plenty of room for the three of us, as the lounge area is a separate room from the bedroom. It is very comfortable, clean, and beautifully decorated and furnished.
The gardens are beautiful, and the private deck is bathed in sunshine, furnished with very comfy chairs for supreme relaxation! And of course, the view is spectacular! Terri & Jenny were the most wonderful hosts, very attentive, generous helping us with our travel plans, and going above and beyond to make our stay very special. We are thankful to have found your lovely Room with a View! Thank you Terri & Jenny! I'll be back! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyAro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks Jenny. We enjoyed meeting you and your parents. Glad you stayed a few nights to enjoy what Whitianga has to offer and we hope to see you again some time soon. Jenny & Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We decided to visiti Whitianga from Auckland at the last minute and I left my husband to book the accommodation so I was a little unsure of what to expect but he couldn't have made a better choice! This is a lovely little self-contained apartment with separate living area and bedroom and a nice modern bathroom and is high up on a hill so has the most gorgeous view out over the water. There's a nice little deck out front too where you can sit and take in the surroundings and it felt just so lovely and tranquil. Nice generous breakfast provisions too, including homemade muesli which we have asked for the recipe of so we can recreate it at home! The hosts also dropped us into town at night so we could have a few drinks which was great. We are already planning our next trip there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snickershey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Great choice on hubby's part! We enjoyed your stay - and hope to see you some time soon. All the best, Terri & Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Luckily my honeymoon plans took us to the North Island of New Zealand and we explored the country for 10 days from Wellington to Auckland. We finished our trip in the Coromandel Peninsula area and luckily I had booked our B&B before hand with "A Room with a View". On our arrival Terri and Jenny had prepared the room and had the US Flag flying on the flag pole. Their warm welcome and organization of the accommodation was fantastic. The room was very spacious allowing us to unpack completely, arrange gifts, and make our final preparation for our flight home. The reason for selecting this B&B was because of their great webpage and from Terri and Jenny's friendly response to my initial email. They even gave us a free ride to town for dinner allowing us to have some drinks and cab it home. My only mistake was that I didn't plan for 2 nights at "A Room With a View".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpmcnulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks for your review - and so pleased you stayed a few nights to enjoy all that Whitianga and the greater Coromandel has to offer. It was our pleasure driving you to your dinner downtown. Thanks so much for the glowing comments about our website - we're proud of it! Regards, Jenny & Terri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Dropped into Whitianga for sadly only one night, but had an a very nice time. "A Room With A View" is set in a beautiful location with a fantastic view (obviously). Although compact, it's very comfortable, clean and well presented with bedroom, bathroom, lounge room, deck and lovely garden. It had everything we needed with friendly hosts, no hassles and as someone else mentioned, a very generous breakfast. There's It's easy enough to get into Whitianga yet set where you feel you have managed to get away and get some privacy. Would love to have been able to stay longer to relax in this little haven.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks Steven. We appreciate your endorsement on the breakfast and that one night here just isn't enough. Contact us for another weekend escape opportunity away from the hustle and bustle of Auckland! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2012

beautifully decorated studio in a great location with stunning views. Scrummy gourmet continental breakfast, and very generous in what was laid on. All the personal touches, and great service. Five stars at 3 star prices. Thanks to our hosts Jenny and Terri!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osito1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks so much for promoting the good value of your stay with us - we really appreciate it! Cheers and safe future travels, Jenny & Terri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We recently had a seven week tour of New Zealand covering both islands. 'A Room With A View' in Whitianga was the first B&B we stayed in and we wondered then if we had peaked too soon, we were right! This is not an excellent B&B it is truly outstanding in every respect.

Jenny and Terri have carefully thought through what a guest might need and then covered all the requirements. The quality of cleanliness, space, decor and facilities are second to none, and the view from the deck is fantastic. The breakfast was also fantastic and beautifully presented.

The genuine warm and friendly welcome from Jenny & Terri was lovely and our only regret was that we didn't stay longer, which we will do on our next visit.

Of the 12 places we stayed around the islands, this was not just 'simply the best' it was 'outstandingly the best!'

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegoathouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks both for your review - equally at one stage we would like to visit the Goathouse in the UK. It was great to share stories and information and that you had the time to spare with us over some wine on the "top deck". Cheers from us - Jenny & Terri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and I had planned our delayed honeymoon in New Zealand to include several nights in Whitianga during mid November 2011, but accommodation we had sought through another agency was not available. In looking for alternative accommodation we chanced upon "A room with a view" at 4 Miro Place. Although it is a compact motel-style setup located as a part of a private residence, it is absolutely perfect for couples seeking a degree of privacy and tranquillity. The facilities, which include a delightful continental breakfast, are excellent. We would hope to return again in 2012 perhaps for a week. As hideaways go, it is a real treasure.
Les and Anna, Canberra...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesCanberraAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Owner at A Room With A View, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks for your comments Lea. Since you stayed we have opened up a second room (separate from the bedroom) which is a lounge/dining room. This suite is for the exclusive use of a couple or travelling party of 2-4 guests. It's still quiet - something we couldn't believe when we first moved here! Cheers, Jenny & Terri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayview at 91
Bayview at 91
#1 of 42 in Whitianga
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Casa Aquila Boutique Bed & Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Taigh Na Mara Bed and Breakfast
12.2 mi away
Indigo Bush Studios
Indigo Bush Studios
#12 of 18 in Coromandel
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room With A View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room With A View

Property: A Room With A View
Address: 4 Miro Place, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From your bed and breakfast accommodation you can see magnificent views across Mercury Bay, the Whitianga Harbour, over to Shakespeare's Cliff and Cooks Beach in the distance. Your private garden and deck are for your exclusive use. A full continental breakfast is provided for you to enjoy at your leisure, as well as your own barbecue facilities. Your room is totally equipped for a short or long stay and includes LCD television and DVD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Room With A View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing