We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thing Ever”
Review of Cave Cruzer

Cave Cruzer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cave Cruzer Adventure Tours is the original Whitianga Marine Adventure Tour. Our ex naval rescue vessel gives you 360 degree unimpeded views and will take you to places that other boats cannot. You will learn local history of interest and visit caves, blowholes and the Marine Reserve where you will see an abundant amount of sea life. We take you to the world famous Cathedral Cove, the beautiful set used for part of the Prince Caspian/Narnia movies. Terry, our boat skipper will enchant you with tales as he shows you Shakespeares Cliff, Cooks Blowhole, Champagne Rock and the Orua Sea Cave (NZ's 2nd biggest sea cave), to name a few. NZ fur seals can be seen frolicking in the crystal clear waters from time to time and if you are really lucky, we have a NZ Department of Conservation licence to view all Marine life in the area. Safety is paramount and we as a company are committed to providing you with the best experience in the 'Bay' on the day. We provide all customers with access to their full tour of photos (1 photo taken every 10 seconds) in video form plus any images captured via our Facebook Page at the end of the day and encourage you to share your pictures with our followers. Lastly, this area is a photographers dream!
Napier. New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Thing Ever”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wow...what a great trip and Steve was fantastic. This is a must to do when in Whitianga, it was one of the highlights. The boat is a real racer especially of the weather is a bit rough..would do it again tomorrow. Good to see the marine reserve is doing the job well...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 76Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friend and I had a fantastic 2 1/2 hours out on the water with the skipper. We had the whole boat to ourselves!
The tour was informative, fun and relaxed. We were navigated into some amazing caves and blow holes. I particularly enjoyed being allowed to snorkel and then being able to wrap up warm in the all weather coats provided!
A great Trip. Thanks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmilyBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin swim”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Amazing adventure this was. Skipper was great with a wide knowledge of history and places too see. Allowed us to swim with the dolphins and snapper school. Amazing value for money. Had so much fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went on the 2 1/2 hour trip on 24/02/13. Steve the Skipper was great, he gave us loads of info and made it interesting with his good sense of humour. The scenery was beautiful and the stop to let us have a snorkel was well worth it. Overall excelent value for money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank andypivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing adventure - must do again!!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our kids loved the boat ride and Steve was the best host - a great Kiwi bloke who made the trip funny and memorable. The sights are breathtaking and I'm glad we paid to do it, it wouldn't have been the same if we had tried to see them ourselves.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyatatagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Cruzer also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cave Cruzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing