We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Salt Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Whitianga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Waters edge dining in beautiful Whitianga serving European style food using only the best local ingredients. Whether it's a quiet cocktail on the deck accompanied by a bar snack, or a full dining experience, Salt will cater for your needs. Call us today for a booking. OPEN 7 DAYS FROM 11.30AM
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Did not have all the menu items even though we were led to believe they did prior to seating. Poor to inaccurate description of food. Poor service. Would not recommend it. Poor value for your money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Seaskyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix36, Owner at Salt Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Apologies but as explained by the waitress we were in between menus changing from our winter to summer and only a couple of items were not available. This was made very clear. This is extremely rare and it would have been fairer if this was taken into account. The two reviews from this day appear to be from the same table as everyone else this evening were full of the usual praise for both the food and the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
There are newer reviews for Salt Bar and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 509 of 680 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

The menu sounded great but as soon as we sat down everything we wanted to order was no longer available. We finally ordered a couple of entrees to share and what we received compared to what the menu described was very misleading, small portions, bland and not appetizing at all. This restaurant seems like its trying to appear and operate as an up-scale establishment when it is far quite from quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix36, Owner at Salt Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

PLease see my response to the other review on this date. We had a great night with many happy customers as always...apart from this couple who seemed to have a hidden agenda about our restaurant. I do understand that even the best restaurants in the world are never going to please everybody all the time but at Salt we will always certainly give our hearts and souls to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I dined at Salt at the beginning of this year(2013), and it was great. Atmosphere, choice of menu and wines were really enjoyable. Switch to Labour Weekend, however, and things are much different! Menu has changed, with no availability of a vegetarian main. You can get by with ordering fries, and some vegetable sides, but it didn't feel like a gourmet dining experience.
What a shame! I'll eat elsewhere in Whitianga from now on.

Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix36, Owner at Salt Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

We have a number of vegetarian options available to all our customers and we are happy to have them. On this occasion, there was simply none that really took the diner's fancy. We are certainly no different than we were at the start of the year when the reviewer dined here previously. The waitress attempted to offer many alternatives to those already on the menu and after some deliberation the diner decided to have 2 sides. These were perfectly cooked and served as asked for. It is great when these reviews get posted as it gives us a great opportunity to put the record straight and tell the actual story and we will continue to serve quality vegetarian options in a growing area of the dining market.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had the Soup of the Day and the Risotto. Absolutely loved it! We are vegetarians and so we were restricted in our options but the given options were so good , we were almost thinking of ordering more. Had it not been for our big road trip back to Auckland, I could have had more of the yummy Asparagus Soup! We went for lunch on the labor day and they looked slightly understaffed but they still manage pretty good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SirishaAchanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Staff too busy setting tables to take a reservation. Very disappointing as we had been the previous.night and found the food very good. Service was friendly but lacking in skill. Mains delivered before table cleared. Change over resulted in utensils flying every where including on the floor

1  Thank SharonSearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix36, Owner at Salt Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

This is a very unfortunate and unfair review after such an amazing weekend for us at Salt. It was a long weekend and we were absolutely unable to take this reviewers booking for the second night due to already being full and I understand that it would be frustrating. No staff would ever be to busy to take a booking if we weren't already fully booked. We pride ourselves on service and food and this reviewer received exactly that the night before. I also have to mention that our mains would never go out before entree plates are cleared as our systems don't allow for that to happen so that comment simply stems out of frustration and is wholly untrue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 

Been to Salt Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing