We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!”

Salt Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 55 Restaurants in Whitianga
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Waters edge dining in beautiful Whitianga serving European style food using only the best local ingredients. Whether it's a quiet cocktail on the deck accompanied by a bar snack, or a full dining experience, Salt will cater for your needs. Call us today for a booking. OPEN 7 DAYS FROM 11.30AM
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a wonderful Valentines Dinner with two four year olds. Staff were
wonderful and so was the food. Lovely seaside setting. Highly recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    207
    82
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Salt is Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Salt is one of the best restaurants we have had the pleasure of eating at in our 40 years together.
The food was excellent, although the cut of lamb was less than ideal, but 9 out of 10.
The service was excellent and the choice was great. For Whitianga, the price was up there, but it would compete with any of the top restaurants in Wellington, including Logan Brown, Martin Bosley and Hippopotamus.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigcampbellNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great meal and service, last ate here 4 years ago, chef had changed from then almost as good as then creme brulle is to die for.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank waimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best dinner for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went here for our Valentines dinner. Fillet is excellent and all plates have a beautiful presentation. The spinach was so fresh my husband ate his! The staff was friendly and made you feel welcome and at home. Visiting from so far away, it is nice to feel so welcomed. Our waitress had great tips on the local beaches.
I can't finish a review without telling you. . . You have to have dessert. Again beautiful presentation and wonderful favors. The cream brûlée was to die for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tamborine, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Salt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Flaxmill bay and after short ferry ride to Whitianga we walked about five minutes and found Salt, a restaurant attached to the Whitianga hotel. ordered great kiwi beers ,Monteiths ales and soaked up the views of the marina. I had a wonderful bowl of mussels in a light broth , another of our group had a steak sandwich,this would have to have been the best steak sandwich i have seen , an open sandwich with seared steak ,rare in the middle.Along with the friendly and attentive service of our waiter Mark, he is about as good as you get in wait staff, this restaurant is a must on a trip to nz.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ann o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Salt Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing