We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuck”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cambells Steak & Ale House - CLOSED

Cambells Steak & Ale House
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yuck”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We have been here before - was exceptional. Now change of staff. Food was overcooked, inedible. Sent it back, came back nearly as bad. Disappointing. Get a new chef before you go out of business. I could have done better!

Helpful?
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    9
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dinner at Cambells steak and Ale House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you like just your basic burger and chips this is the place to go. It was very tasty and the service was really good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“It is what it says!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

It is not the Ritz - we didn't expect it but tried it despite some recent, less than flattering reviews. Food is simple but well presented and tasty with supporting ales to boot. Service was pretty good, no delays and the three ladies who were front of house were very helpful and cheerful. Plenty of seating inside and out so could handle larger groups. All in all we paid $65 for meals for two, drinks and a bottle of wine which was fine. BUT the icing on the cake, which seems to have gone unnoticed, is their responsible landlord approach. They will pick you up and drop you back to your accommodation after your meal. This was a very welcome and efficient service. Thank you!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatandAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely shocking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went there for special occasion. Ordered steaks for us all. Firstly one meal came with chips when we ordered mash. Then there steaks came out with medium flags on them when we had requested well done. Taken back and sent straight back saying chefs error. Had ordered two sauces which were put on same steak plate. Rump steak was grisly and wrong sauce put on it. Waitress very rudely just came over and took plate of table not even asking if there was anything they could do to help. I asked for the manager after rest of steaks were full of fat and undercooked. Bar manager came over asking what was wrong and what she could do. Requested refund. Came back saying manager refused refund. Noticed that guy she was consulting with was drinking with mates by bar. He refused to speak to us. Absolutely shocking food and even more shocking customer service :(

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
166 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Horrible cook - DO NOT GO HERE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Seriously, do not go here. The waitress were the only saving grace. There were only about 4 other tables occupied and we ordered right away. 40 minutes later the waitress came out to say "the chef (LOL) sends his apologies, but he is running behind and it will be a few more minutes." How is he behind?? There are only 2 other tables with out food??

We asked to see if they could serve at least the corndog for our son since it was getting late. It came out hard as a rock all the way through to the center. We showed the waitress and she said he overcooked it, so she ordered another one. That one came out almost raw. SERIOUSLY? Who can't cook a CORNDOG??

I ordered a white russian and I got a 12 ounce milk!

My "salad" was a single huge piece of lettuce with a slice of tomato and some onions (aka, the toppings for a hamberger) and my medium well stake came out rare. She offered to replace that too, but I didn't want to wait another hour.

In the end they refunded my meal at least (since you have to pay in advance).

I would rather go, hunt my food, kill, skin and cook it, before going here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbar434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambells Steak & Ale House also viewed

Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing