We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandy Shores apartments
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Whitianga
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grumpy's Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Makona Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
41
6
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
6
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice outlookacross the roadfantastic viewsgreat apartmentstayed longergreat spottop floorhome away from homea great place to stayhot water beachthelmahostunitwaterfrontmotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 51 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

my husband and i absolutely LOVED our time here. the pictures don't do it justice! everything was very clean, (even the dishes) there is a small kitchen and outdoor bbq, and thelma was such a friendly and helpful host. not to mention that the beach is just across the street from the front door, and the view is absolutely gorgeous!! we would definitely come back, and strongly recommend it to anyone looking for some time away from it all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Having read all the reviews we had high expectations and its fair to say these were met and surpassed. We stayed in the upstairs apartment which was simply amazing! Plenty of room and a real home away from home feel. The real star though is the million dollar views from every part of the large living area and the proximity and access to the beach. This place has everything going for it and is nothing short of perfect. The host Thelma is warm and welcoming and very helpful and she makes it feel like you are visiting family. We could not have higher praise for Thelma and the Apartment. Easily one of the best, if not the best place we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frogfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent base for exploring the Coromandel. Well appointed, beautiful appartment with lots of room and a great view of the ocean across Buffalo Beach Road. We had the upstairs apartment and were late arriving but nothing was too much trouble for Thelma! She went out of her way to assist us. We recommend Sandy Shores to everyone!
It even has a lift to get upstairs!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
3  Thank Philip_and_Honor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sessame, Manager at Sandy Shores apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Yes the lift is a great help with suitcases etc Also the spa bath makes this unit most attractive I believe I have the best views on the bay thanks Thelma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Sandy Shores for a weekend in January 2013 and absolutely loved it! It was right across from the beach and a quick 5 min walk into town for the ferry or 5 minutes in the opposite direction to the Lost Springs. We were in the bottom unit. There is a bedroom and a full bed in the living room. On occasion you can hear people walking on the street but the sounds of the ocean waves make it all okay. There is a full kitchen (including a microwave, which is a big deal in NZ) and had all of the necessities to make your own home-cooked meals. The owner, Thelma, was also very nice and accommodating. For the price, space, and location, it was probably the best place I stayed in New Zealand. So if you are planning to visit Whitianga, I highly recommend the Sandy Shores.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McNulty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sessame, Manager at Sandy Shores apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thanks for that It was apleasure to have you stay with us Thelma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a night and wished it was a week. We booked the second floor unit with the never ending views over the bay. The rooms were amazing, everything has been freshly painted, the furniture is new. This isn't a room with a view, it's an entire house with a view. We will definitely be back to stay here. We have paid more for a nights accommodation that promised so much on the web page but didn't deliver. Sandy Shores is a win.

Room Tip: Second floor apartment is a must. The extra dollars is well worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews