We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sovereign Pier on the Waterways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fantastic Accommodation. We have just had a wonderful couple of days at these beautiful modern,clean apartments. Outlook onto the canal was superb,in fact you would think you were in a canal house on the Gold Coast in Australia but this was far more restful and quiet. Loved the grassed area in front of the outdoor table,great for catching the sun.Manager was excellent and her recommendations for restaurants and the Lost springs Pools were spot on.Highly recommend

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 155 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Treat yourself to a luxurious apartment and relax. Beautiful spot by the water, watch the boats , swim in the pool , chill in the warm spa! Michelle in the office couldn't have been more helpful and the apartment is beautifully furnished and well equipped.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a 2 night stay at Sovereign Pier in a very comfortable and generously sized 2 bed room apartment. The living area was large with views out to the (man made) canal. The master bedroom was spacious with views out to the same canal. The balcony was large with a bbq and outdoor dining setting. If I were to be "picky" the only point to note is that the location is away from the town and the river and built on a recently developed canal estate, which lacks a little when compared to the downtown location. Having said that it didn't diminish our enjoyment of the apartment.

The kitchen was very well equipped and had the same level of utensils that you would find in the normal home, not the very basic ones often found in some apartments.

The managers of the complex were very friendly and obliging and provided information on shopping, restaurants etc.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would be very happy to return to the property.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had our trip here with four kids (including 2 angisty teen girls and an outa sorts autistic son).
Weather wasn't helping but this place has the space and facilities to keep everyone entertained. Our hosts were outstanding, probably the most helpful we have ever experienced...(and we are needy!)
The room was spacious in a modern apartment kinda way with a big screen high def tv with great home theatre system and a very comfortable king sized bed in one of the three bedrooms. The kitchen was well appointed with a large fridge/freezer. We will stay here again, especially if the same hosts remain!!!

Room Tip: No tip, all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nakial30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Warmly received and shown around our apartment, the experience of staying at Sovereign Pier surpassed our expectations.... A lovely sea and pool view, fish jumping in the evening and walking distance to the town made our stay complete. We are seriously thinking of returning for another stay, bringing family this time!

Room Tip: Definitely request Marina views.... They make all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Welcome relief after 8 day stay in downtown Auckland. Extremely quiet with fish jumping in the canal. The fully equipped kitchen and full sized dishwasher were a surprise.
Easing driving distance from many attractions. Great supermarket , bottle shop and fresh seafood outlet close by.
Friendly management even supplied a shovel to dig for the "hot water" on Hot Water Beach.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Johnfromaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in a fabulous apt. It was clean, comfortable, large and had everything we needed. It was stylish and modern
and had a balcony overlooking the waterway. Eating breakfast on the balcony watching fish leaping, and beautiful boats on a georgeous sunny day, was terribly hard to take. We were greeted at Reception by a very friendly and helpful manager, who took us to our apt and explained how everything worked, She also recommended the Buffalo Road takeway for great Fish & Chips. It's a great place to stay, a little bit of luxury on our trip around the noeth island. We would highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
512 reviews
16.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.4 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Pier on the Waterways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Pier on the Waterways

Address: 73 South Highway | Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: $156 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sovereign Pier on the Waterways 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star resort delivering great holiday experiences 2nd to none with guaranteed water views, spacious modern suites,(1,2 or 3 bedrooms). Your ideal honeymoon or holiday location. Facilities include FREE in room Wi-Fi, super-sized spa pool, lap pool and tennis court, gym and kayak hire. Suites all have designer kitchens, spacious dining, lounge and bedrooms with walk-in wardrobes in master bedroom, providing all the comforts of home and more. Water views guaranteed with all Suites located on the waterfront with peaceful relaxing views of the Waterways & mountain range beyond; set amongst landscaped grounds, just minutes from the beach, Whitianga is spoilt for choice with many cafes, bars & restaurants, ensuring all tastes are catered for, only a 1.5Km walk to the centre of the township. Cosy gas fires/or heat pumps complete the picture for the colder months. A full laundry is provided within each Suite.Unique to Sovereign Pier is their own private boat ramp; and ample FREE parking for cars & boat trailers. Guests with large power boats and yachts can also rent a marina berth, subject to availability. They have 24hr security in their gated complex for your peace of mind and a private lockable garage is provided with each Suite. Kayaks & quadricycle are available for hire. Whitianga is a New Zealand coastal town on the move. Often considered the Coromandel's jewel in the crown - It marks the gateway to spectacular deep sea fishing and diving as well as swimming, bush walking, scenic cruises, soaking in a hot pool at Hot Water Beach at low tide, or indulging yourself for a massage at the famous Whitianga Lost Spring Hot Mineral pools & Spa, horse riding, surf and line fishing, kayaking, relaxed shopping, dining on local cuisine, golfing, bone carving - Sovereign Pier sits in the center of all of this,in the peaceful location of the Whitianga waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sovereign Pier on the Waterways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Pier On The Waterways Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing