We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cowboy operator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitianga Campground
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We were expecting a really nice family holiday. Admittedly I messed up our booking and had paid online through Wotif for a cabin for three nights instead of a unit with ensuite and kitchen. The owner said we would be fine to upgrade to a unit for two nights instead of the three because of the third being booked out, and we would be refunded for the difference. My father went to get our refund just before leaving and the Owner said we owed him for the cabin for the third night and threatened to lock the gate if we didn’t pay! We ended up paying $130 extra for a cabin we did not use. On top of this there was a total lack of service and hospitality, and no kiwi spirit. Be warned, this guy is a cowboy operator.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

A camp ground i feel should be clean and operational i felt many things have been neglected and not tidied or cleaned for a while. 2 bbq's 1 didnt work at all the second very dirty took 30 minutes to warm so you could still put your hand on the plate....no toaster, this would be a good business to buy as it would be very easy to improve.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tubbatubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We found the self-contained unit lacking in cleanliness and maintenance. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Look closely before you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Thankfully we only stayed here one night. We stayed in a cabin where we found a cockroach in the kitchen and the power kept tripping everytime the camper van outside plugged themselves in. The owners did try their best to help but it still left us very cold and waiitng leave as soon as possible. It was cheap and I guess you get what you pay for

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lady_traveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
11.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
#5 of 25 in Whitianga
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harbourside Holiday Park
Harbourside Holiday Park
#12 of 25 in Whitianga
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitianga Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitianga Campground

Address: 6 Bongard Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: $51 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitianga Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Whitianga Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing