We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame....No air con or fan to cool air down......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Spacious lounge dining area with big double doors that open on to a small balcony.....Small adequate kitchen with double hob and microwave only...kettle, iron, fridge,...Heater in lounge area, but no fan or extractor , so was very hot and humid. The double bedroom led on to the bathroom....the bed was very firm and comfortable.......However the bedroom had a high narrow window which gave restricted light..The bedroom was dark and looked depressing and again very hot ....The bathroom was well lit with heat lamps and ordinary lights....a hair dryer was supplied. Good sized shower unit....Internet available at a cost, free on site parking...at the rear....The front view was onto the sea/inlet with a resticted view due to buildings at the front...The only other issue to consider is that there is no onsite guest laundry facilities.....we used the washer across the way at another resort......For the same price we paid we could have had a property with the air con , laundry facilities and more up to date fixtures....ie TV...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 521 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2010

I was shocked to read the latest review for Beachside. I discovered the wonderful Resort back in May and have since been back to stay on numerous occasions. I have always found the staff to be most welcoming, helpful and friendly, and the new Managers are no exception.
The motel itself is well positioned for easy access to the beach (the beach is only 30metres away) and yet is is very private and quiet, as it is just off the main Road. Everything (town centre, hotpools, beach, ferry, supermarkets, restaurants) is within easy walking distance. All in all this is the best Motel I have ever stayed at anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cosmickali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We were very pleasantly surprised with this place after a random booking. After we arrived soaking wet from kayaking in the rain, the very friendly host swapped our room to one with better access, a huge shower and brought over extra towels. The apartment was warm, spotlessly clean with a full kitchen and plenty of room. If you're hard to please, there is a bit of noise from the upstairs apartments, so if you don't mind the stairs I am sure that being up there would remedy this. Also has great close sea views from upstairs - downstairs depends on where you are in relation to the waterfront buildings in front- we had a bit of a view.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robandnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

hubby and I stayed here for 5 nights. we managed to get a very good price (less than half) because it was winter and business was quiet, as it normally is this time of year. the place was clean, modern, had all kitchen facilities even forks, frying pans and cook top. the main living area is of decent size with a sneak view of the ocean. the place was warm and just around the corner from the high street, which was very convenient. the staff was very helpful and the location is close to the beach and walking distance to the ferry. pool/tennis court and free wireless internet was a bonus. my only concern would be that you can hear people walking past the bedroom at all times of the day/night but overall we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazy2rist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Quite comfortably the nicest place I've stayed at during my stay in New Zealand. Paid $89 for one nights accomodation through the Whitianga I-Site. The owner/manager was friendly and helpful, offering suggestions of places to eat and things to do. Was shown the room, was greeted by a modern looking and clean kitchenette with coffee making facilities. The lounge/living area was big with a comfortable sofa and armchair, and a large flatscreen TV with a good range of channels. Next to the lounge area was a balcony that had an excellent view of the bay. The bedroom was good-sized, large comfortable double bed, plenty of room to store your luggage. Bathroom was equally excellent, large bath with powerful shower, clean, plenty of towels and toileteries.

On the night I stayed here, the temperature outside must've been in the low single figures, didn't feel it one bit once inside the room, good central heating, plus a heat vent in the bathroom ceiling that you could use with the flick of a switch. Also, the complex was very quiet, no traffic noise allowed for a very relaxing night's sleep.

Can't fault this place, when I'm next in Whitianga I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ah75212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

It was wonderful! The manager was incredibly helpful and friendly, always eager to provide us with information about the town and local attractions, and checking to make sure we were always happy with everything. It was raining when we checked out, and he offered to drive us to the bus stop in his own car! The room was large, clean, and well furnished. The bathroom was great, with a huge bathtub. The kitchenette was especially great, equipped with enough gear to allow us to comfortably cook for ourselves. The location was great--we could see the ocean from our balcony, and walk to everything with ease. I would highly recommend staying at the Beachside Resort. If I'm ever in Whitianga again, I'll be sure to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdoig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The place was everything that it claimed to be - clean spacious well equiped rooms at a good price. The man at reception was really friendly and helpful. Gave us sightseeing advice and he even said hi to us when he saw us out at dinner (at a restaurant not at the resort). He even made sure the restaurant staff were looking after us.
Thanks heaps - we will definitely stay at Beachside if we are in Whitianga again.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank clank88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
348 reviews
0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Whitianga

Address: 20 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: $133 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Resort Whitianga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Whitianga offers lovely one & two bedroom self-contained motel apartments at competitive rates. Just a three minute stroll to Whitianga's main street and only a minute to the beautiful Buffalo Beach. Beachside Resort Motel is located on the Beachside of the Oceans Resort complex in the heart of Whitianga, New Zealand (NZ). Perfect to explore the sights and attractions of Mercury Bay and the Coromandel Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beachside Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing