We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception guy still not Mr Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Reception guy still not Mr Cheerful”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Came back here with my wife for the weekend, wanted to use a $30.00 voucher that we had and get away before daylight savings ends. Reception fella is still not overly friendly, though he was all smiles for my wife

Room was lovely, tidy and clean, close to town, nice big TV we could plug a USB stick into and watch a movie in the evening

A good motel, small ice tray, bathroom good, with good shower pressure

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Cameron - I am so pleased you returned to stay with us and were able to use your HOST discount voucher. I am glad you found the room clean and tidy - Gill does a great job looking after these. We look forward to your next visit and I hope that our welcome and friendly service can be improved upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    178
    33
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
272
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The unit was well appointed, clean and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful. It is close to the town centre but still far enough away to be quiet. We only wish our stay could have been longer.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Jim C - Thank you for completing as review for Beachside Resort. Wishes can come true...next time you come to Whitianga, stay three nights, just enough time to enjoy all that the Coromandel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed at Beachside Resort Whitianga jsut for the night but would have loved to stay forever. Excellent location beach view from our room, friendly and helpful staff and just a great nz beach atmosphere. Also helped that the weather was excellent. Would love to go back and would encourage anyone else to do the same!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Lauren - Thank you for taking the time to review us. One night is never enough when staying on the Coromandel. Come back and stay longer next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Fabulous place to stay. Rooms well equipped and very spacious. Well situated for walking into town and near all the things to do at the wharf. Recommend this very highly to anyone. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glitzy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Glitzy60 - Thank you for writing a review and I'm glad we were able to make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We booked via the i site in Thames and were pleasantly surprised. Spacious apartment close to the beach. We did have a side sea view. Very clean and well equipped. Within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear HolidayHarriet - Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I had just one night's stay at the Beachside Resort, returning for the second time on business. As before, the room was immaculate and the service was friendly and helpful. While I didn't have any time to see the sights, I would be happy to stay at the Beachside Resort if on holiday or again on business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Napiercv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Napiercv - Thank you for taking the time to review us. As always we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gossau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a spacious Apartment with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. The outdoor pool was clean and had warm water, which we enjoyed using. The Manager is friendly and helpful. The Apartment is within Walking distance to various Restaurants and the wharf, where you can get on a ship for a boat cruise. We would definitely stay here again. The only downside was that the view from our room was to the parking lot, but we were usually on the go anyway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoyceMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear JoyceMS - Thank you for your review and you comments about Beachside Resort. Unfortunately our downstairs units do not have much of a view, however, if you pay a little more, the upstairs units have a great view of Buffalo Beach. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Whitianga

Property: Beachside Resort Whitianga
Address: 20 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Resort Whitianga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Whitianga offers lovely one & two bedroom self-contained motel apartments at competitive rates. Just a three minute stroll to Whitianga's main street and only a minute to the beautiful Buffalo Beach. Beachside Resort Motel is located on the Beachside of the Oceans Resort complex in the heart of Whitianga, New Zealand (NZ). Perfect to explore the sights and attractions of Mercury Bay and the Coromandel Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing