We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Russ and Gill were very easy to deal with - pleasant and efficient. I booked a 7 rooms for 3 nights and everyone was happy with their rooms. I was staying in one of the one bedroom, upstairs units which I liked as it meant I could leave my sliding door open at night to let the sea breeze in.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Julia - Thank you for your comments. Our Managers are the best - full of information and a willingness to help. I am glad you found Beachside Resort just what you wanted and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 506 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Perfect location - practically across the road from the beach, and a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants/cafes. Room was very clean and kitchen had all the basics. However, while the room was nice and modern it was basic and without air-conditioning and for this we felt it was a bit over priced.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPJP_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear SPJP - Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Beachside Resort. Located on the front of the Oceans Resort complex puts us in an ideal location handy to everything. We pride ourselves on being competitively priced and work hard to offer affordable accommodation while keeping at the lower end of other similar properties in Whitianga. Searching Wotif, Expedia or booking.com is a good way to see all the properties in Whitianga, listed together, you will find our prices are lower than most in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This motel was perfect for our needs! It is a very short walk to the beach with the upstairs units having that view. It is in a very quiet spot. The pool is heated to 27 degrees! There are tennis courts in the centre of the complex along with the pool. The kitchens are very well equipped. We got a lovely surprise to find that the unit was serviced every day - especially as we left it like a tip when rushing out for the Cathedral Cove Kayaking experience at 8 a.m. The manager is friendly, welcoming and helpful and greets/goodbyes with a smile and cheer. All the rooms are very spacious but the kitchen is a walk-through style from the entrance door. Around the perimeter of the property is another resort with 1-2 bedroom apartments, 30 of which are in a renting pool also. Would definitely stay here again - especially with the fantastic "wotif" deal.

Room Tip: Some second level apartments have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Shelley. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Resort is a great location. When you come back we have some of those two bedroom units you mention, they have a great view of Buffalo beach and all the comforts of home. Mention this review for a return discount. Regards Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We meant to stay two nights but loved it so much we stayed for three. Overlooking the sea this motel is immaculately clean with good facilities. A two minute walk to restaurants and bars and thirty seconds to the beach.Free wi fi is a big advantage.Staff are friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MikejMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear MikejMorris - Thank you so much for the excellent review. We love to know that our guests enjoy their time with us and like it so much they stay longer! Love to have you back with us anytime, just mention this review for a return guest discount. Regards Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked one of the Oceans Apartment which was located on the ground floor of the Motel block. It has a one bedroom with a Queen bed - an ensuite shower/toilet. There is a fold out Double Sofa bed and a single day bed in the lounge /dinning area. There were 4 our us (two couples so one couple used the bedroom while the other slept on the sofa. Overall, the apartment is very clean, modern and tidy. However, there was no fan or air-conditioning available in the apartment. Just a heater - which, is not useful in Summer.
The motel is located one street away from the main road beside buffalo beach, which is a 3 minute walk to the opposite side of the road from the hotel. Its a 5 - 10 minute walk to the Whitianga main town centre.
It was a pleasant stay and since it was only for one night, we were able to go with it. However, we felt that it was disappointing as at $245 /night, we thought that we could have at least a fan or even air-conditioning.
We were happy with the free wifi and the manager, Gill who greeted us on check-in was very helpful and welcoming. She did lent us a fan when asked.
I would only go back to

Room Tip: The Ocean View Rooms which are located on the first floor of the motel and have a peek to the sea wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LotusJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear LotusJade, Thank you for you comments. We are glad you found our manager Gill helpful - she always goes that extra mile to help out guests. I should point out that our one bedroom apartments are designed for two adults, which would fix the bathroom issue you mention, however we have found that many people like to fit everyone into one apartment at $205 plus $20 per extra person to save costs rather than pay for two apartments next to each other. Our two bedroom apartment would have been better for you with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Regards Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fantastic location off the noisy main road that runs along side water but still has sea views. Two minute walk to town shops and restaurants. 30 second walk to beach. Huge rooms with everything you need included. Modern fresh stylish furniture.

Room Tip: All rooms great , but upstairs have bigger sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neatsKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear NeatsKiwi - Welcome back, thank you for your comments. Our upstairs units have the best views of Buffalo beach. Sit, relax and enjoy a wine while watching the sun set. Regards Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A lovely place to base yourself for a few days to explore. The hosts were absolutely lovely (thanks for the upgrade), the rooms were very spacious with a nice view of the beach. Close to town, great facilities with swimming pool and tennis court. Kitchen well stocked and room very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Claire J, Thank you for your review. We love to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that Russ and Gill looked after you while you stayed with us. The Ocean View units have a great view of Buffalo Beach and where possible we do try to upgrade our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the Coromandel - mention this review for a return discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
82 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Whitianga

Address: 20 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: $97 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Resort Whitianga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Whitianga offers lovely one & two bedroom self-contained motel apartments at competitive rates. Just a three minute stroll to Whitianga's main street and only a minute to the beautiful Buffalo Beach. Beachside Resort Motel is located on the Beachside of the Oceans Resort complex in the heart of Whitianga, New Zealand (NZ). Perfect to explore the sights and attractions of Mercury Bay and the Coromandel Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachside Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing