We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This motel was perfect for our needs! It is a very short walk to the beach with the upstairs units having that view. It is in a very quiet spot. The pool is heated to 27 degrees! There are tennis courts in the centre of the complex along with the pool. The kitchens are very well equipped. We got a lovely surprise to find that the unit was serviced every day - especially as we left it like a tip when rushing out for the Cathedral Cove Kayaking experience at 8 a.m. The manager is friendly, welcoming and helpful and greets/goodbyes with a smile and cheer. All the rooms are very spacious but the kitchen is a walk-through style from the entrance door. Around the perimeter of the property is another resort with 1-2 bedroom apartments, 30 of which are in a renting pool also. Would definitely stay here again - especially with the fantastic "wotif" deal.

Room Tip: Some second level apartments have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Shelley. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Resort is a great location. When you come back we have some of those two bedroom units you mention, they have a great view of Buffalo beach and all the comforts of home. Mention this review for a return discount. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    178
    33
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
271
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We meant to stay two nights but loved it so much we stayed for three. Overlooking the sea this motel is immaculately clean with good facilities. A two minute walk to restaurants and bars and thirty seconds to the beach.Free wi fi is a big advantage.Staff are friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MikejMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear MikejMorris - Thank you so much for the excellent review. We love to know that our guests enjoy their time with us and like it so much they stay longer! Love to have you back with us anytime, just mention this review for a return guest discount. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked one of the Oceans Apartment which was located on the ground floor of the Motel block. It has a one bedroom with a Queen bed - an ensuite shower/toilet. There is a fold out Double Sofa bed and a single day bed in the lounge /dinning area. There were 4 our us (two couples so one couple used the bedroom while the other slept on the sofa. Overall, the apartment is very clean, modern and tidy. However, there was no fan or air-conditioning available in the apartment. Just a heater - which, is not useful in Summer.
The motel is located one street away from the main road beside buffalo beach, which is a 3 minute walk to the opposite side of the road from the hotel. Its a 5 - 10 minute walk to the Whitianga main town centre.
It was a pleasant stay and since it was only for one night, we were able to go with it. However, we felt that it was disappointing as at $245 /night, we thought that we could have at least a fan or even air-conditioning.
We were happy with the free wifi and the manager, Gill who greeted us on check-in was very helpful and welcoming. She did lent us a fan when asked.
I would only go back to

Room Tip: The Ocean View Rooms which are located on the first floor of the motel and have a peek to the sea wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LotusJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear LotusJade, Thank you for you comments. We are glad you found our manager Gill helpful - she always goes that extra mile to help out guests. I should point out that our one bedroom apartments are designed for two adults, which would fix the bathroom issue you mention, however we have found that many people like to fit everyone into one apartment at $205 plus $20 per extra person to save costs rather than pay for two apartments next to each other. Our two bedroom apartment would have been better for you with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fantastic location off the noisy main road that runs along side water but still has sea views. Two minute walk to town shops and restaurants. 30 second walk to beach. Huge rooms with everything you need included. Modern fresh stylish furniture.

Room Tip: All rooms great , but upstairs have bigger sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neatsKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear NeatsKiwi - Welcome back, thank you for your comments. Our upstairs units have the best views of Buffalo beach. Sit, relax and enjoy a wine while watching the sun set. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A lovely place to base yourself for a few days to explore. The hosts were absolutely lovely (thanks for the upgrade), the rooms were very spacious with a nice view of the beach. Close to town, great facilities with swimming pool and tennis court. Kitchen well stocked and room very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Claire J, Thank you for your review. We love to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that Russ and Gill looked after you while you stayed with us. The Ocean View units have a great view of Buffalo Beach and where possible we do try to upgrade our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the Coromandel - mention this review for a return discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this lovely motel. We had an upstairs room 713 with a lovely sea view. Check in was easy with a warm friendly welcome. The lounge room was spacious with a separate bedroom and bathroom. The kitchen was very well equipped and everything was spotless. The motel is a great place to stay within walking distance to the fabulous lost spa and the beach is very close for an early morning walk. The restaurants are also very close as is the Main Street. We ate at salt which was great for dinner on the first night. We didn't book for dinner but were well looked after. This resort is a well cared for place to stay. The motel certainly look after their guests and we will be back.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rosscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Ross - Thank you for your comments. Beachside Resort is located on the front of the Oceans Resort Complex, the grounds and the pool area are well keep by the Resorts Building Manager Steve, he does a great job caring for the grounds and the amazing plants on the complex. We are delighted that we are able to offer to guests on the Resort, easy access to the famous The Lost Spring. We look forward to welcoming you back in summer and mention this review for a Trip Advisor return discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice room with kitchen, lounge which has a single bed and a separate master bedroom with ensuite. Easy walking distant to shops and beach and just around the corner from the Lost Spa. We enjoyed coffee in the morning on the sunny outdoor area at the front whilst listening to the sound of the waves rolling in.

Owners were very friendly and more than accomodating, we got this room through a Grab One deal and the room we had paid for when we booked was not available due to the timing of our booking but the owners where so apologetic and gave us an extra bottle of wine and could not have been more helpful. We could have chosen to go another weekend but thought we would just go anyway and enjoy. We were not disappointed and would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the 1st floor which is the top story and you will get a view and not be disturbed by the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Dianna - Thank you for your comments. It is always welcoming to hear that our hosts looked after you when you stayed with us - Russ and Gill are very accommodating and make all of our guests very welcome. Beachside promotes a number of Super Hot deals - so keep an eye out, we would love to see you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Whitianga

Property: Beachside Resort Whitianga
Address: 20 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Resort Whitianga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Whitianga offers lovely one & two bedroom self-contained motel apartments at competitive rates. Just a three minute stroll to Whitianga's main street and only a minute to the beautiful Buffalo Beach. Beachside Resort Motel is located on the Beachside of the Oceans Resort complex in the heart of Whitianga, New Zealand (NZ). Perfect to explore the sights and attractions of Mercury Bay and the Coromandel Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachside Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing