We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value. Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
kiwi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value. Great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very nice apartments. Sea views. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Beach across the road. No road noise. Very good quality beds and pillows. Great shower pressure. Very roomy apartments with full cooking facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neatsKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear NeatsKiwi – Thank you for your comments. Our units at Beachside Resort a super large with plenty of room to spread out and relax for a few days or longer. Within walking distance to everything you need and located away from any traffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    177
    33
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
271
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location easy walk to shops cafe restaurants a walk along the beach ,
Great rooms plenty of room well maintained ,
Great hosts very helpful and friendly could not wish for better made you very welcome .We have booked again for March for a longer stay .

Room Tip: we had a upstairs room with balcony and a view of the water was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PUMPKIIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Pumkin – thank you for your comments, we love to hear when people have enjoyed their stay with us at Beachside and look forward to welcoming you back in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had one night in a 2 bdrm apt at Beachside on 22 Sept, couple with a 22 mth old. We thought the complex was lovely & well maintained & has nice facilities. Our apt also was very nice and spacious and light. Unfortunately having a 2 bdrm was a bit of a waste, as for us we spend the extra so that our child can sleep in his own room and we can stay up late and watch TV etc. It was a cold weekend & the apt was not very warm with one wall panel heater which was on constantly but is far from adequate for a place that size. The apt had one bedroom downstairs with the laundry & a bathroom and the other upstairs. The downstairs bedroom was really cold & we just would not put our child in there. For the price you pay you would expect decent heating, there was a tiny radiant heater in the wardrobe, but they are very unsuitable for a night heater with a child, so it was useless. So unfortunately he had to sleep in the hall right outside our room, we could just squeeze past him to get to our room & the bathroom. Consequently he didn't go to sleep till 10pm which wasn't what we'd planned! So, although the place is lovely, it was a bit of a waste for us, and for the money it costs I would have expected more sufficient heating, a place that size needs a decent heat pump.
We had friends staying at Oceanside in a 2 bedroom and we went to visit them, it was very different in their place. They had older furniture & an old TV, but the room had DVD's & board games in it, and a bbq outside. They had 2 sets of stairs and 2 bedrooms on the same level, above the living area. For some reason their rooms felt warmer. So I find the place a bit odd, bit hard to know what you might get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Julie – Thank you for your comments, I am sorry the apartment was not warm enough for you, this is not normally the case, usually we have complaints about the units being too hot, Whitianga is a very warm place. You were upgraded from a one bedroom unit to a two bedroom apartment at no extra charge – so I believe you got a bargain as these apartments can be up to $255 per night. Please come back in summer and stay with us again, and enjoy some Coromandel heat - we will upgrade you to the apartment again too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beachside Resort is a great place to stay in Whitianga. It is close to everything. The room we had was lovely..... light, airy, and spacious. It was well equipped. Wished we could have stayed longer. Direct access to The Lost Spring an added bonus. Host Russ very friendly and only to happy to help with any requests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Minniepig – We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and sorry you could not stay longer with us at Beachside Resort. Russ is an excellent Host and a fountain of information of things to see and do when visiting us here in Whitianga. The resorts access to the famous The Lost Spring makes it easier to travel between the two properties. We look forward to welcoming you back to spend more time with us ... so remember to mention this TripAdvisor review for a return discount. Regards Bruce Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Friendly welcoming hosts where nothing is too much trouble. Clean, modern accommodation with everything you need and well positioned for a walk along the esplanade to the ferry terminal, or into town for the many cafes, restaurants and shops, and quick access to The Lost Springs.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs one bedroom unit at the end of the block with a lovely view of the ocean and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyjafas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Happyjafas. Thank you for your comments. Beachside Resort is in an ideal location with easy access to everything Whitianga has to offer especially the famous "The Lost Spring" an amazing place to spend the whole day. Please quote this review for a TripAdvisor return discount when you are next in Whitianga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wwwwwwonderful Whitianga winter weekend was excerienced by us at this modern complex. Convivial hosts Russ & Gill gave us a warm welcome to this gem in the Coromandel. The short-cut to the adjoining "Lost spring Spa", a somewhat expensive way to take a "hot soak", the beautifully man-made complex lived up to expectations. The Beachside Resort discount stay was obtained off a supermarket coupon - a champagne stay for a beer price.

Room Tip: Upstairs room had a view of Buffalo Beach and Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clubMINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear ClubMINI - Thank you for your review, we love to hear that our onsite managers gave you a very warm welcome. We would like to welcome you back to stay with us in Summer and maybe stay a little longer at Beachside Resort. Remember to mention this review when booking for your TripAdvisor return discount. Also we run the $99 per night supermarket deal printed on the back of your shopping dockets so remember to look out for these, however a TripAdvisor reader can also request this $99 deal - subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Beachside Resort is the No.1 place to stay...a skip to the beach....a stroll to the harbour..a casual walk to town.
The units are all modern,clean and well appointed with everything you need for your stay... no matters whether its over night or 2 weeks.
Your hosts....Gill and Russ..will give you a 5 star welcome and can advise you of any restaurants, activities and adventures in Whitianga and surrounding area.
I would highly recommend a stay at Beachside Resort... I have travelled extensively here in NZ and overseas and this resort is up there with some of the best I have stayed in .
What more can anyone want!!!!!!!! 5 star all the way!!!!!!!

So if you are coming to Whitianga ..this is the place to stay!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi Ginny – Thank you for your comments. I am glad that Russ & Gill looked after you and that you enjoyed your stay so much that you stayed for ten nights with us. When you are here next at Beachside, you are welcome to stay in one of our Ocean View Spa apartments at no extra charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Whitianga

Property: Beachside Resort Whitianga
Address: 20 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Resort Whitianga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Whitianga offers lovely one & two bedroom self-contained motel apartments at competitive rates. Just a three minute stroll to Whitianga's main street and only a minute to the beautiful Buffalo Beach. Beachside Resort Motel is located on the Beachside of the Oceans Resort complex in the heart of Whitianga, New Zealand (NZ). Perfect to explore the sights and attractions of Mercury Bay and the Coromandel Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachside Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing