We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased we choose On the Beach B&B”
Review of On the Beach B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
On the Beach B & B
Ranked #12 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So pleased we choose On the Beach B&B”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a surprise! Thank you Trip advisor for giving honest reviews.
We did stay 3 nights in October and I have to say B&B is the way to go and this one truly surpasses lots of them. We did stay downstairs in our comfy room with ensuite, not very big but good for 2ad and 2 kids. Our host Gordon and Diana were really accommodating in everything and made our stay very enjoyable. Every night coming back from our daytrips, they came downstairs and we did spend sometime chatting along and relaxing in their bar/games room area, just outside our bedroom. Lovely homemade biscuits and chocholate in our room, even the kids got a treat!
The place is beach front with a big yard elevated and very nice view a little bit out of Witianga center (i think 6km, so you need a car) then go upstairs in the morning when they prepare breakfast for you (Oh, so much variety and what a service!!) and the view is even better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIAMANTINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon3638, Owner at On the Beach B & B, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. Again we are delighted that our efforts to make our guests fee at home are appreciated. We do understand that travelling with children can sometimes be stressful and so we do have available things such as a cot, toys to suit all ages, buckets and spades for the beach etc. Being able to spend time with guests is rewarding to us as we increase our knowledge of what is important to travelers, our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A beautiful house, literally on the beach, a warm welcome with our country flag (they have 42 different, if my memory is good !), a glass of wine and great advices for restaurants and things to see and do in area.
There is a large window in the living room, the view on the beach is stunning.
The spa bath has te same view, really nice.
The room is pleasant, the breakfast really good but the best of it all is the company of Diana and Gordon. We had a really good time, thanks to

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon363896, Owner at On the Beach B & B, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Again we are thankful that our efforts to make our guests truly feel at home are being appreciated. Having travelled a lot ourselves we do know that when you are away from your usual surroundings and friends, it is good to have someone who will respond to your requests and endeavor to offer good and helpful advice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The location of this B&B was just stunning. The hosts - Gordon and Diana - were wonderful.

We were a group of 7 and rented all the 3 rooms they had for a couple of days. The B&B is right on the beach with some beautiful views of the bay. The rooms were very comfortable and very clean. This is exactly like going to your grandparents place. Gordon loves to talk about the local history and Diana fusses over you - in a good way! The one thing that just blew our minds away was when we woke up in the morning, opened our curtains and saw our national flag flying in their flag pole. Apparently Gordon has 45+ different country flags and based on his guests' nationality, he flies that country's flag. Nice little touch!

Don't miss out on Diana's homemade cookies and chocolates!

The B&B is a few miles from town but if you are driving then it should not be a problem. When we went in September the shops closed very early - before 8pm, so keep that in mind if you want to go out for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon363896, Owner at On the Beach B & B, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are so grateful that our efforts to make our guests feel welcome are appreciated. Yes it is true that we do have 45 different flags and there are occasions when we have guests from several countries we can have 3 different flags displayed on our flagpoles. Should our guests wish, we have copies of Diana's cake a desert receipts available on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was for us not a usual B&B, but more of a place that reminded us of holidays at grandparents' house. Gordon and Diana are absolutely lovely and so incredibly creative and full of energy! The house, where they also celebrate weddings, is beautifully located on the beach, with a spectacular view of the sunrise, Diana will make sure you don't miss if you tell her you are interested. The room was huge, very tastefully decorated and the fact that there were no keys made us feel much more at home. Gordon had dozens of stories for us we very much enjoyed while having our 'on the house' evening drinks with the other guests at his bar. Diana made sure that we had fresh cookies and chocolate in our room every day and at the end of our 3 nights stay gave us lovely presents made by herself, dearly reminding us of them now that we are back in Germany.
They both were so generous to invite us to a family dinner and that was an unforgettable Kiwi experience we are very grateful for. Gordon's habit of raising the guests' national flags made our stay even more memorable, since it was for the first time that I felt really proud of seeing the flag of my country of origin.
Very lovely place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aotearoa_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon363896, Owner at On the Beach B & B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We do enjoy just being ourselves and treating our visitors not just as guests, but as friends. Our part of New Zealand has so much to offer and we enjoy being able to advise and assist guests to make the most of their experiences whilst they stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were lucky enough to find ON THE BEACH, which was ON THE SAND! Could not be closer to the ocean without being IN the ocean! Lovely home,with a breathtaking view. There is NOTHING Diana could not do; from making her own curtains, upholstering her own furniture, making home made chocolates and cookies that were in our large comfortable bedroom every night. And there was NOTHING Gordon does not know, no matter what the subject--he is a fountain of information. But in addition to this, this amazing couples' most endearing feature is that they are warm, wonderful, and make you feel like family. We planned on staying one night and stayed 3. Their home is less than a ten minute direct ride to Whitianga with its great restaurants. This B&B had everything we wanted and much more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon363896, Owner at On the Beach B & B, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Again the opportunity to host guests from the Untied States was a privilege and knowing that they come from sunny California we were pleased that our local weather was good. We feel honoured that when they only came for one night and wanted to stay for three was very rewarding for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had 3 great nights here, with Gordon and Diana going out of their way to make us feel at home. Our room was furnished to the highest standards and the breakfasts were wonderful. The home-made marmalade and chocolates were delicious! The house was well situated to see the scenic Coromandel Peninsula; also to have lovely views and a refreshing swim in the sea at the bottom of the garden. Lots of great memories!
Val & Mike

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon363896, Owner at On the Beach B & B, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Guests from England are always welcome. As we have visited many B & Bs in the UK we understand what our guests expect and try to please all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Thanks to Diana and Gordon who made us feel like home - also because they put up the Austrian and South African flags for their current guests ;o) Right on the beach location with a big garden and wonderful view over Simpson beach - but you will need a car to come to sights and restaurants. Bedroom and bathroom were very clean and big enough for the three of us. The beer at night at Gordons ground floor bar combined with his stories about the region were so nice. Dianas home made breakfast and sweets were very delicious. We would highly recommend it to families and people searching for a quiet and relaxed surrounding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon363896, Owner at On the Beach B & B, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your response. Yes we have flags of 45 countries which we display for guests in an endeavour to make them feel "at home". We are also happy to provide free transport to and from restaurants in town in the evenings so guests don't have to worry about drinking and driving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
2.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
5.0 mi away
Taigh Na Mara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#13 of 42 in Whitianga
48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview at 91
Bayview at 91
#1 of 42 in Whitianga
300 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach B & B

Property: On the Beach B & B
Address: 66 Wharekaho Rd | Simpson's Beach RD2, Whitianga 3592, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — On the Beach B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only B & B on the beachfront in Whitianga. We are located at Wharekaho (Simpson's Beach) which is 6 kms north of Whitianga town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your On the Beach B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing