We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation of our whole trip”
Review of On the Beach B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
On the Beach B & B
Ranked #12 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best accommodation of our whole trip”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was by far the best accommodation we stayed in during our trip around the North Island. We were treated like family from the moment we drove in. The hosts clearly love their country, and they were willing to share their knowledge of the region and its history. When recommending that we visit Hot Water Beach, they gave us a shovel and beach towels, and even dried our togs after a relaxing dip in their hot spa. Breakfast was great - perfectly cooked poached eggs, more types of cereal and muesli than I could count, and delicious jams and local honey. They really are 'on the beach' and the view from the living room window is spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_rebecca18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon363896, Owner at On the Beach B & B, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do try hard to meet the requirements of all our guests no matter from where they come from and comments such as yours are rewarding to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

From the start we were made to feel like visiting family. Tea and home baking on arrival was just the beginning. Diana and Gordon were one of the most warm and friendly couples we encountered in New Zealand. Great tips on what, where and when to visit different places ; beach towels on hand and a drink in the hot tub ready after our swims in the lovely bay; films and ice cream on a wet afternoon and lots of chatting and wine. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Our bedroom was comfortable and spacious and had a good walk-in wardrobe, which also housed a fridge. It had excellent ensuite facilities, tea and coffee and delicious homemade chocolates (thanks Diana).
Beautiful - people; house right on the beach; views and hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon363896, Owner at On the Beach B & B, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Guests stay in our home and we want them to also feel at home. Whenever we are able to assist we do our best with both advise and suggestions. We want our guests to arrive as visitors and leave as friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The view of Mercury Bay, seen through a huge living room window, is breathtaking. The beautiful, well-designed home is immaculately well-tended. The hosts, Diana and Gordon, are very friendly and informative, and obviously love to entertain. They are eager to share their considerable knowledge of the area's history and places of interest, and if only we had had a few more days to spend there, we would have extended our stay with them and further explored the beauty of the Coromandel Peninsula.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJP940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon363896, Owner at On the Beach B & B, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are proud Kiwis and love to share our hospitality and knowledge of our surroundings and country with guests from overseas as well as New Zealanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hosts are very friendly and candid. The place is amazing. We had a great time. The place is right on the beach, in a quite bay. The location is amazing. Very clean and well maintained. Very good value for money. It has a projector and screen to watch movies or sport events. A very nice spa pool. And all the facilities you need.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikauPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We got a wonderful welcome from our wonderful, friendly hosts, Diana and Gordon - they even flew the Union Jack during our stay. The house really is right 'On the Beach' as the name suggests and the views across the bay were superb. The accomoodation was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple. They are a mine of information about the local area and make you feel very welcome in their lovely home. Tea and cake when you arrive; drinks in the evening and even a film show on Gordon's enormous 8 foot screen. Gordon cooked a delicious breakfast and Diana gave me lessons on making unique Flower Fairies and Christmas decorations out of pasta.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Our first time to New Zealand and 'On The Beach' has to be amongst the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. The owners Gordon and Diana are great fun and a mine of information. We arrived during the Rugby World Cup final which New Zealand won narrowly, and made for a memorable evening
celebrating with the hosts, local folk and some French supporters. The setting is wonderful looking out over Simpsons Beach, a mile long crest of sand. The room was excellent and as other posters have mentioned well provided. The spa bath was good fun with a glass of
wine and a view looking out to sea. There is so much to do in the area including Hot water Beach, Cathedral Cove, Coromondel Town and if you can find the path the beautiful, secluded New Chums Beach.
Finally, if Gordon knows the nationality of the visitors (and has the flag) he will put their country flag up the flag pole - a nice touch. The Scottish Saltire flew proudlu for 3 days.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We have done quite a bit of world travelling and we would rate this as the best B&B we have ever stayed in!
The location is superb having the beach at the bottom of the garden, the views are exquisite - across the bay to the sunrise and the gentle swish of the waves on sand lulled us to sleep.
Our room had every facility we could want including fridge with fresh milk and iced water in the dressing room, nightlight in the ensuite bathroom, and homemade chocolates on the tea/coffee tray every night.
The hospitality of Diana and Gordon was fabulous from the tea and cakes on arrival, the evening meal (if pre-ordered), the volunteered washing and ironing and the friendly late evening drinks (with rugby on a huge screen at the right time of year). Their friendlyness could not be faulted.
They do indeed succeed in their aim for you to arrive as a guest and to leave as a friend!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanandRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
2.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
5.0 mi away
Taigh Na Mara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#13 of 42 in Whitianga
48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview at 91
Bayview at 91
#1 of 42 in Whitianga
300 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach B & B

Property: On the Beach B & B
Address: 66 Wharekaho Rd | Simpson's Beach RD2, Whitianga 3592, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — On the Beach B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only B & B on the beachfront in Whitianga. We are located at Wharekaho (Simpson's Beach) which is 6 kms north of Whitianga town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your On the Beach B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing