We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ohuka Place Homestay
Ranked #16 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“January 2013”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Absolutely lovely hosts with helpful tourist information, they even lent us beach towels and shovels for hot water beach. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and great views. Tasty homemade breakfast in the morning. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again if ever back in whitianga.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed in Totara room which has a fantastic view of Bay and hill side. House is beautifully decorated and set in a very peaceful location within easy reach of the town.Helen and Edwin are very good hosts and do a lovely breakfast to start your day. This was the first stop on our tour of New Zealand and we could not have wished for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in in Devember 2011 and had a lovely stay. Helen and Edwin were so welcoming as was Bailey their beautiful and friendly dog. Our room was very comfortable and had great views out over the bay - we enjoyed sitting out looking at the view and the birds. Great breakfasts and a great welcome. It was very quiet and peaceful, but easy to drive into Whitianga. It was our first Christmas ever away from home and we were a little apprehensive - but we were made to feel part of the family and had a wonderful time here - thank you. The only possible improvement would be the addition of wifi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shep847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Excellent stay! Stayed there for one night in February 2012 . The warm welcoming, and attention of our host make us feel like home.
Our hosts are just fantastic. I wish we could have stayed longer.
They offer you a great breakfast, the rooms are spacious and clean, the view is stunning and they give you all the advice possible
Definitely the place to stay in Whitianga.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I had the wonderful experience of staying with Helen and Edwin at their home, Ohuka Place for three nights. I hadn't seen any reviews so I took a chance on booking from the description(OTIF).Our room was huge with sliding glass doors that displayed an extraordinary view of the bay. This is a very large and modern home. Everything is pristeen. We were served lovely hot breakfasts in the morning whenever we chose to eat.Our last night we were even invited to stay for a home cooked dinner which was so delightful after many, many restaurant meals.
We had a car which I think would be helpful as it is not walking distance to the town.
There is also a beautiful golden retriever Bailey to welcome you and make you feel even more at home.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful views and private ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colsolare02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This B&B is in such a beautiful place; it sits atop a hill in Whitianga with amazing views from the many windows in the room. The room that we stayed in was bright and sunny with a perfect view overlooking the water. The place is only a few years old with modern furnishings- the bed was comfortable and room was very clean. The owners were exceptional hosts-very lovely people, both friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome and as if we were in our own hometown. We particularly loved the affectionate dog named Bailey! I would highly recommend this place to any traveler, particularly those in search of a romantic setting. We should have stayed longer than one night!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Excellent, clean B and B with pleasant and helpful owners. Lovely views from property & very comfortable and spacious bedroom. In a beautiful quiet spot only about 5 minutes drive from Whitianga where there were plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalbergia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
2.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercury Villas
Mercury Villas
#2 of 2 in Kuaotunu
13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bayview at 91
Bayview at 91
#1 of 42 in Whitianga
295 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
425 reviews
1.5 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohuka Place Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohuka Place Homestay

Property: Ohuka Place Homestay
Address: 11 Ohuka Place | Ohuka Park, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohuka Place Homestay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil sunny B&B with kingsize/twin beds, en-suites, TVs and private sliding doors to your patio overlooking Mercury Bay. Wake up to breathtaking sunrises and sea views and step out from your room to the terrace to enjoy breakfast surrounded by native bird song, farmland and bush. Peaceful hilltop setting only a few minutes from the beach – none of the waterfront traffic noise. Very friendly live in hosts offering a relaxed stay and a true New Zealand experience.Rooms serviced daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ohuka Place Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing