We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Within The Bays
Nearby Hotels
Baileys at the Beach Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$117
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$111
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$124
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$108
$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$94
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
89
4
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade beeranne marietheir beautiful homeglass of wineperfect hostsfreshly baked croissantsbay view roomparting giftnew zealandb bhome brewfive star ratinggreat companyour honeymoonus feel at homerooms are comfortablelovely house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 94 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hans and Annemarie are one of the sweetest couples we met on our New Zealand adventure to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. We were so happy to have gotten to stay in their beautiful home. Loved our room and bath, the chocolates on the bed each night, the wine and appetizers in the evening, the delicious breakfasts in the morning which included Annemarie's yummy croissants, the great guidance for activities, but especially the warm and friendly smiles that we got each day from both of them. They didn't miss an opportunity to make our stay perfect. Although Hans kept saying that he couldn't accept that we thought things were perfect, I told him we would be giving them a six instead of a five star rating! Their home is beautiful with great views and the location an easy place to reach the beaches, town, and Cathedral Cave adventures. We loved being there and loved our hosts. Would love to return anytime!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your flattering review! We don't agree with the six stars though; we just like to spoil our guests a little:>)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Within The Bays was the third stop on our tour of New Zealand and we were not disappointed with our choice. The house is really beautiful and is in an absolutely stunning location. Hans & Annemarie were the most wonderful and inspiring hosts. They gave us some great recommendations of where to visit and where to eat. It was lovely to sit with them in the evenings and share a glass of wine, or a glass of Hans's homemade beer! Thank you Hans and Annemarie for making our stay at Whitianga so memorable. Particular thanks to Annemarie for teaching me how to do Needle Felting - a revelation. If you visit Whitianga, you should definitely stay at Within The Bays.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! It is nice to read that you enjoy your new hobby in needle felting! Easier than learning how to spin :>) Kind regards, Annemarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose this accommodation as part of our honeymoon. The house was amazing with beautiful views from both the bedroom and main living area which guests are free to use and we certainly did. Annemarie and Hans were excellent hosts and provided a truly unique B&B experience. They were great company, very helpful in assisting to plan activities and meals and even had us trying new crafts for a bit of fun. We would recommend the romantic dinner as it was one of, if not the best meal, of our honeymoon. We had a lot of fun at Within the Bays and would recommend it to anyone, couples or families.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thanks for your comments! It's great to know you loved our Romantic Getaway with all the trimmings. For us: Looking after newly weds, preparing breakfast with "bubbly", tickets to The Lost Spring thermal pools and setting the table with all the candles for the romantic dinner, is fun to do. Getting a great review is even better! :>) Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hans and Annemarie share their home with their guests. They are perfect hosts. Within the Bays has a very high standard of accommodation and a wonderful view from the lounge and bedroom. Breakfast served on the balcony was enhanced by the view and Hans's homemade jam. Evenings were completed sharing a glass of wine with our hosts and enjoying some entertaining conversation. Lessons on spinning were freely available. Although not exactly convenient to the town this is a small price to pay for such delightful hosts and wonderful views. We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

Room Tip: Only one room available
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you very much! I hope Pat has found a nice group of ladies (with maybe the occasional gentleman) to perfect her wool spinning! Kindest regards, Annemarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at Within the Bays and despite the rain, our stay was very enjoyable because of Annemarie & Hans. Good conversation, excellent home brewed beer, wonderful view and extremely helpful - they were the perfect hosts. The dialup connection wasn't helpful, but it is good to be disconnected from time to time, so this still counts as a pro for me :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius-Hanganu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks very much Marius! It's a pity we can't control the rain so we do our best to make everything else as pleasant as possible for our guests. Also a big thank you for introducing us to that intelligent and artful game of Dixit: no wonder it is an award winning card game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews