We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Ranked #2 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Wairua Lodge is a very restful and tranquil getaway. One of the features and highlights is the outside bathhouse. I found this very restful and appreciated the opportunity to start the day with an early morning bath n bubbles and listen to the birds as they announced the dawn of another day. The bath is also great on wet and windy days. And also great for spending time with that special someone. I WANT ONE!!!

As hosts, Tam and Charles lived up to the expectations given by previous reviews. They make excellent hosts and their vocation obviously suits them.

I was initially a little concerned that we would be warm enough but we found that the heating in the River Deck Suite (where we stayed) to be very adequate. The accomodation was very clean, the service was excellent and the bed was very comfortable.

Thank you Tam and Charles for helping to make our time away very special.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andromeda5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 257 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

On friday the 1st our trip to Wairua lodge started with a ferry trip. Getting on board on pier 4 in Auckland harbour en getting off at Hannaford's Wharf near Coromandel town. It was already dark, but no worries, when you book the Coromandel weekend package, Tam and Charles will pick you up at the ferry. They will drive you to the lodge, a 30 min. drive, through the forest over a windy and untarred 309. The lodge is, by dark, nicely decorated with candles and oil lamps, so is the footbridge to the lodge over the stream. The lodge is situated in the middle of nowhere, you can see the milky way, some owls if you are lucky, parrots and a couple of thousands colours of green. On saturday we were able to borrow the car from Tam and Charles and we discovered the Coromandel. Lots of unbelievable views, this is how sightseeing is ment to be.
The rooms are good. A nice bed, a tidy bathroom. Besides a Tree top bath house there is a Night sky spa pool, truly romantic. But above all there's the service from Tam and Charles. They were really attentive and at our service. We will never forget the dinner they cooked for us. We used is at the porch during shimmering. Just book it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinHutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The 309 road from the west coast of the Coromandels is a winding dirt track that is "interesting", however the approach to the lodge is mostly bitumen from the East coast. The rooms are definitely not 5 star, BUT the location makes up for it. We stayed two nights during during wet and windy weather and enjoyed the solitude of being in a truly hidden valley. Tam and Charles were very attentive and yet allowed us our privacy. The bath-house complete with candles, soft music, bubbles and a truly beautiful vista over a bubbling brook is a must (even better if Frank the asian who used it before us had bothered to empty and rinse the bath!!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere. We found it quite tricky to find but it was completely worth the wait. We received such a warm welcome from the owner when we arrived and, as we were shown around the tiny hotel, I knew we were going to regret only having booked one night.

The rooms are really cosy and it is obvious that a lot of thought has been put into their design. There is no television (DVDs can be borrowed) and no mobile phone reception which I loved! There is an open air spa and also a beautiful, private spa bath with amazing views across the forest. Both of these can be booked when you arrive.

After a very peaceful night's sleep, we took a short walk down to the two stunning swimming holes. We took our trip during the winter but these would be fantastic during the summer.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic stay in a beautiful setting. I just wish I didn't live on the other side of the world because I would absolutely love to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

My husband and I are just back from a fabulous weekend on the Coromandel Peninsula celebrating my b'day. My hubby booked us a 'King Snug Room' at Wairua Lodge after reading all the great reviews on TripAdvisor, and WOW, what a find! Wairua truly lives up to all the previous, excellent reviews.
The lodge is well located approx 12-15 mins drive from Whitianga and is a real bush retreat. Our small hire car had no trouble handling the gravel road & river crossing - even after a big storm this weekend!
The hosts, Tam and Charles, are very friendly and helpful, whilst allowing guests space to enjoy themselves. We had a guided tour with Tam upon arrival and settled into our spacious, well-furnished room (w/ cosy electric fireplace!). We enjoyed an hour in the 'Treetops Bathhouse' - an ABSOLUTE must. We've never experienced anything quite like it in all our worldwide travels. Private bath, bottle of wine, candles, relaxing music, all in amongst the trees of the forest with the river below. Check out the pic on the website!
There are some gorgeous walks and swimming holes on the property - what a treat it would be to return in summer.
We picked up some food from the supermarket in Whitianga (TIP: pick up food enroute to Wairua for an even more relaxing retreat) and cooked dinner in the conservatory kitchen - well - equipped & a thoughtful touch to allow guests to use this.
A basic, continental brekky was included and delivered in the evening and we popped it in the fridge in our room for brekky in bed this morning!
In summary, an EXCELLENT, well-priced B&B which is very well deserving of its #1 spot on TripAdvisor ... we hope to return in the warmer months! Thanks for a great stay, Tam and Charles!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We can echo the previous positive reviews on this delightful little piece of paradise hidden in the beautiful forest of Coromandel in New Zealand's North Island.
The rooms were well appointed with quality linen, robes to use when visiting the romatic waterfall spa and other extras. An adequate continental breakfast was delivered to the room the evening before - well presented. The gardens were superb - only wished we had visited in summer as the river valley with its swimming hole surrounded by the magnificent ferns and trees beckoned.
You abslutely MUST try the semi-indoor naturally spring fed spa - surrounded by flickering candles and overlooking the lush illuminated forest and the valley below. The hosts are charming, helpful and friendly without being intrusive or too chatty. A highly recommended property in the forest but not too far from the local town for dinners.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

On the 27th August 2010 while visiting Whitianga for the Annual Scallop Festival, my wife and I chose to stay at the Wairua Lodge situated some 12 kms out of Whitianga and the "hustle and bustle" associated with an event of this nature. There is only one word I will use to describe the Lodge and the experience of staying in this place. UNIQUE.
From the winding metal road with its river crossings to the interior of our warm cabin, built completely from New Zealand Macrocarpa timber, with its characteristic perfume to the bath perched on the side of a hill and fully exposed to the natural bush, pigeons and possums. This is an experience we have never had anywhere in all our world travels.
At night the absolute darkness and quiet coupled with kingsize comfortable beds make for a peaceful nights rest.
All of the above is complimented by two wonderful hosts, Charlie and Tam. They are a bright bubbly couple and nothing is a problem to them. Pick up and delivery from the Auckland/Coromandel ferry, drop off and pick up into Whitianga, breakfast included and a welcoming bottle of wine, make this a truly unique experience.
Wairua Lodge - Top Marks.

Yours gratefully for a wonderful weekend.
Ross and Loraine Fuller. Dolphin Aqualisers Ltd

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aqualisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
19.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
6.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
54 reviews
5.8 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 43 in Whitianga
167 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat

Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: $138 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairua Lodge sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 double rooms look out across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and the Kiwi Apartment is a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing