We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
Ranked #5 of 40 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I'm writing this review massively late (3 years and tripadvisor won't let me put the real date) but trying to catch up on places we've stayed in the past that were memorable and this is top of the list. It was such a beautiful place, we particularly enjoyed the onsite walks and bath house, one of the most romantic, special places we've ever stayed at, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steph19844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
177
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have just returned from two days of total relaxation after staying at the Wairua Lodge. The hosts were so friendly and helpful, just how good hospitality should be.
We walked around the property in the woods and along by the river to the swimming water holes. The room was comfortable and clean plus a good breakfast too.
We would recommend it to anybody wanting to unwind from city life.
Yes we would stay again 100%

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a totsl of six nights to visit the North Island prior to our cruise.. This was the last night before we went to our ship. It was by far the most rural and isolated spot we stayed. It was everything that we expected. We arrived a bit late, as being from the US and driving ourselves, we tended to be late everywhere.
The room was totally adequate, though the tiles in the bathroom tended to get a bit slick if the shower head was aimed in the wrong direction. I am almost 75 and would have enjoyed the addition of safety bars in the shower.

The use of the property and the design of the short walks , etc. was spot on.

I have read some of the reviews where folks seemed to think that the lodge and surrounds should be more trim and neat. Come on! If you are in the country, enjoy the country.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ojairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have stayed at Wairua Lodge twice now, and have never been disappointed.
It is close to Whitianga town for when you need supplies, but far enough into the valley that you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. Surrounded by bush and nothing but the sound of the river and the birds in the trees, makes for a truly relaxing experience.
We have stayed in both the King Snug room, and the River Deck Suite, and found both to be fantastic. The River Deck Suite is the ultimate though! With it's night sky spa and tree top bath it is somewhere really special, and we will be back every year for a special weekend. Thanks to Charles and Tam who are always friendly, helpful, and go above and beyond to ensure you have an amazing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kels152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful spot, totally relaxing, great value. Lots of lovely spots to sit and enjoy the lovely scenery and bush walks to take. Just a short drive from attractions but there is really no need to leave the place. You could not ask for more. Highly recommend

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ngaire n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked Wairua for the remote location in the Coromandel forest. It didn't disappoint in this respect, the lodge is well into the jungle down many windy roads, so you have a great feeling of seclusion when you arrive. That said, you are still in easy reach of Whitianga and Coromandel town.

The owners are very friendly people and really look to ensure you get the most from your trip, but equally will leave you in peace as you want it.

We got good breakfast supplies and there are nice options around the property, the private bathtub that opens to the forest, the hot tub that looks to the starry skies and the local walking paths and swimming hole.

The only slight criticism and it is slight, is we felt the property a little old and tired. We had the expansive river deck suite which had lots of space, but feels a little dated, a little stale etc. It's similar as you walk around he property. If it could be refreshed a little, this would be a little gem!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craigsoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charltam, Owner at Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback and the sensitive way you have presented it.The Hidden Valley is certainly as much about its natural structure as it is about the accommodation itself.We do not respond to reviews normally as we believe it is an international conversation between travelers.In this case thanks for your feedback directed to us and we will assess the Riverdeck Suite for a polish up as you suggest.Happy travels Charles and Tam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Set amongst gorgeous native NZ bush, the lodge offers boutique, comfortable (although quite tiny) accommodations. We felt like this was like an upmarket camp/retreat; great for couples (the outside bath is amazingly romantic) or for groups.
What makes the lodge very special is the couple who own, live and manage the property. Very friendly, approachable and thoughtful, they make guests feel like friends without cramping style. It was very wet over our stay and they even moved our car across the fiord during the night.

Room Tip: Book ahead to get a larger room. We were a short stay so no room service necessary although breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RestnRecreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
5.9 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
19.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
6.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
7.2 mi away
970 Lonely Bay
970 Lonely Bay
#2 of 24 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.8 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley

Property: Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 Hidden Valley snug rooms which gaze across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and The River Deck suite-a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing