We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor experience on Coromandel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaeppeli's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaeppeli's B&B
Ranked #21 of 40 Whitianga B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
wirral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor experience on Coromandel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at 11 locations during our recent trip to NZ. This was easily the poorest. The place is unkempt and run down inside and out which leaves us wondering where some rave reviews came from. Hostess was pleasant but our rooms were dingy and the bathroom had not been cleaned - dirty washbasin and splashback. Owner claimed she may have been distracted by
a phone call during cleaning.
Richard + Dana Morris and Olga Cannan UK

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6xb42long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was a wonderful place to spend a honeymoon and Christmas with stunning views over the Coromandel coast. We spent a very relaxing week being taken care of by the owner Jill. Eating her fantastic cooking in the gazebo overlooking the sea is an experience we wont forget

Room Tip: A great place for a relaxing getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Jill has created this calm and restful haven from the craziness of the world. The views are fantastic and the rooms are very comfortable. We loved sitting on the balconies and just chilling. The breakfasts were lovely and the dining room is just perfectly located.
I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 616Erica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpe Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Kaeppelis is everything it says on the website and more. Accommodation, scenery and Jill, our host, were excellent. Jill was always forthcoming with information and on hand when needed . We opted to have her evening meals on two nights and they couldn't be faulted. Sitting eating a lovely meal, pleasant chat under a gazebo looking out to sea, what more could you want. Kaeppelis has it all.

Roger and Barbara Baldwin
February 2012

Room Tip: Kaiwanga Room is perfect. Even on a rainy day the view is still there but, on a good day with the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taupo, nz
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

As someone else has previously said, Kaeppeli's was difficult to find and once we got there we were quite taken aback by how tired the place looked and we felt that it was in desperate need of some TLC. For the money we paid, it was disappointing and now in the light of our experience with other b &b's it was downright expensive and certainly not good value for money.

The other comment to make is that the web pictures are misleading. The picture of the gazebo, where you have breakfast, leads you to think of really glossy surrounding, but again it was in much need of repair and a coat of varnish.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed for the 3 days we had booked. Jill was a pleasant and present host, joining in easily at breakfast and the one supper he had there. The house is high up a longish track and the views are spectacular. We had booked one of the two ground-floor guest rooms in the house. On arrival, we were a bit disappointed with ours: it was spacious enough, with a sitting-room area beside the bedroom area, and there was a bath; however, it was quite dark and had no views at all, apart from the drive, where the cars were parked. The saving grace was an elevated balcony up a short, external flight of steps, with spell-binding, panoramic views, for our exclusive use. That first evening, the sun was shining and we were on a level with a Tui bird on a branch just feet away, singing its distinctive (at times, bell-like) song. We felt enchanted. Unfortunately, due to the weather, that was the first and last time we were able to use this balcony and being restricted to our room felt dismal.

The other room, however, which we saw during change-over day, was a much more attractive room, with magnificent views and sliding patio doors and plenty of light. It would have been a delightful room, even in the rain.

Finally, although there are good beaches nearby, the location of this B&B is quite remote, with a 20 minute drive into Whitianga, the nearest place to eat. In retrospect, we feel a location south of Whitianga would have been better.

Room Tip: Get the room in the house with the patio doors and the views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We found Kaeppeli's through a mention in the NZ Herald and it won us over knowing they take pets. The views were fabulous, everyone was friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious, and our dog was well entertained and welcomed. The location is great as a starting point for exploring Coromandel. Really wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
4.3 mi away
Within The Bays
Within The Bays
#9 of 40 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
9.5 mi away
Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 10 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
6.1 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 40 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
10.3 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#7 of 18 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaeppeli's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaeppeli's B&B

Property: Kaeppeli's B&B
Address: 40 Gray Avenue | Kuaotunu, Whitianga 3592, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Living in Style, Comfort and Simplicity above the Pacific Ocean. A peaceful, secluded unique haven with stunning sea, bush and rural views where you can relax, unwind, enjoy the natural beauty that surrounds you. Warm sunny rooms all with ensuites, TV/DVD, private decks. Panoramic diningroom. Children welcome. Pets to pamper. Swiss/ German spoken. Voluntary Vacation option available working with Kauri 2000, replanting the Coromandel in Kauri, on our doorstep. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing