We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Kevin was very helpful!!”
Review of Peninsula Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peninsula Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place, Kevin was very helpful!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We (my husband and I )stayed there for 3 days during the long weekend. We really liked the place. It was clean, tidy and walking distance to the beach. We reached late post10pm but did not have a problem, the checkin was pretty fast. We had not had dinner and neither did we have a car, but Kevin was really helpful he drove us to the nearby restaurants to pick up food. Over all we had a very comfortable stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_nomad_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    52
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
74
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We really enjoyed our 5 nights at the peninsula motel. It was in a good location for walking to the centre of the small town or visiting the marina or beaches. The owners were very helpful and made good suggestions about places to visit and activities to try. We also liked having patio doors out on the the pretty garden with table and Chris so we could eat outside. The owners are in the process of refurbishing the units and I have no doubt that the new ones will be smarter, but we were quite pleased with ours. Having a full 4-ring cooker with grill and oven was an unexpected bonus, in addition to the usual microwave.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I were impressed with the cleanliness of the unit we stayed in. I do agree with other comments that the TV was somewhat outdated and should be on the "what next to update".

The location is excellent, just a short stroll from the shops. I would stay again, the owners were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

To be honest I was a little disappointed with this motel, $140.00 for a night. Old style room with a shower with low water pressure. The big thing that was a let down was the old box style TV, you might well have a black n white TV, I cant remember when I last saw a old box tV, time to upgrade and fast. Ice in ice box and room was clean on the positive side
Guy at reception was pretty friendly on the up side, I wouldn’t rush to stay here again

Room Tip: Bring your LCD TV from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin p, Owner at Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Cameron , Thank you for your comments , last year 3 refurbished our 3 studio units and our 2 x 2 bedroom units , this winter we hope to refurbish our 1 bedroom units with new paint , new furniture and flat screen televisions , this can only be done during our quiet season /
Hopefully we will see you in Whitianga again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed a couple nights. First impression...wow , pictures don't do it justice. So clean and tidy. The lovely couple running the motel were very helpful. Gave us a spade and beach towels to hot water beach. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a spa studio which was fantastic. The room was very clean, spacious and quiet. The location was great - easy walking distance to everything. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. WiFi was included and was great. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the towels were big and fluffy. All in all there is nothing to fault - it had everything we needed and we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I found this property online at short notice during peak season so weren't expecting too much. When we arrived however we were very pleasantly surprised. Its location was very central and only a street from the Whitianga waterfront. Our room (Spa Studio) was fantastic. Very spacious, with its own kitchen facilities, large bathroom with spa and large shower and private rear deck. It was extremely clean appeared to have been renovated fairly recently. Our hosts were very helpful and obliging and even offered us some beach towels and a spade when I mentioned we were heading to nearby Hot Water Beach. Would definately stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
264 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Motel

Property: Peninsula Motel
Address: 93-97 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Peninsula Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing