We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy, homely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Peninsula Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Motel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Pukekohe, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comfy, homely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The decor may be a little dated but then you could call it retro. Stayed here with my family who'd travel from the UK to visit me and was an affordable way of catching up in a homely apartment whilst sneaking in a mini break myself. Was a little dubious after the below review but glad i took the gamble after reading the rest. The hosts were very welcoming too and provided a cosy environment which was well serviced and kept clean and tidy. Felt a little home from home and loved the little things like a spacious section with kids play area and patios running round the outside giving a very social feel to the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kT102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    52
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
74
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

After reading the other reviews this was disappointing. It was certainly clean and functional but the price was high for what was provided. We stayed in one of the older 60s style rooms - spacious but dated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed here during the 2011 Scallop Festival originally because it was the only place with a vacancy that we could find. I am happy to say that I was more than surprised with the room and service that was provided.

The whole place was so tidy and well presented, the room was huge with a roomy shower and spa bath. We had full cooking facilities which was a great bonus. It was in a great location just walking distance to town and the Scallop Festival.

The owner who welcomed us was so helpful and friendly, and even after we checked out they were kind enough to keep scallops for us in their freezer so we could come and pick them up on our way back home.

Overall great place and would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickyx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Recently painted exterior has given the motel a facelift.
Handy location to town.
Loved the outdoor patio with a view of the garden.
Welcoming hosts - great service allowing us to park bikes by their house at the back and setup the BBQ.
Sky TV. Well appointed. Nice feel to the place.
High season surcharge applied.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

Doesn't look much from the front - but we stayed in a new motel room.
The room was HUGE, with a verandah off the room at back of garden and table & chairs to relax with a glass of wine.The room was freshly painted and very very clean.
The kitchenette was functional, (no b'fast provided but facilities to do it yourself). Bathroom had a spa - which we actually used .... normally these extras are wasted on us.
Lady in front office was very friendly and advised of where to eat etc. This was real value for money and so, so clean

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roknok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mana-Nui Motel
Mana-Nui Motel
#8 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Motel

Property: Peninsula Motel
Address: 93-97 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing