We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable 3 night stay at Beachfront Resort in Whitianga in beautiful Coromandel Peninsular”
Review of Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beachfront Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Family of 4 had an enjoyable stay here in January. For us the high point of the accommodation is the location and the direct access from the unit onto the garden and to the sea. We stayed in a downstairs unit and the sliding door opens onto the patio where you can eat your own home made breakfast that looks out onto the lovely garden and beach. The owners were friendly, very welcoming and helpful in giving us good advice where to visit some beautiful spots in the area.The 2 bedroom unit is very compact and the space for the 2 singles bed is small but perfect for younger children. It was okay for our older children but its more like a 1 bedroom space with a dividing door so dont expect a very large 2 bedroom unit. The location more than makes up for this. There is a spa/jacuzzi in the garden which was always private and enjoyable We recieved vouchers for wifi but we found this frustrating as the internet could definitely be improved. We arrived 1 night ahead of our stay and were lucky to get accommodation in an upstairs unit for the night. The owners moved our bags downstairs the next day to the allocated ground floor unit which we preferred. Thanks for a very enjoyable 3 day stay. The Coromandel Peninsular is beautiful and I would recommend Beachfront Resort as a very pleasant place to stay for a family or a couple.We had 2 great lunches at Hot Waves Cafe and Luke's Kitchen and enjoyed our trips to Hot water beach, Cathedral Cove and New Chum Beach. The only let down experience was snorkeling in Gem stone Bay where we were told there were loads of fish and the wasn't even a single fish to see!!!!

Room Tip: We preferred the downstairs unit opening directly on to the garden. Upstairs units have a balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 349 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

perfect for families with children, you can have your BBQ (a clean BBQ!!!) directly in the garden, lloking at your kids jumping around and playing directly on a wonderful and extremely relaxed beach. Frienldy and accomodating owners.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Always a relaxing stay. Hospitality and privacy. On the beach. Perfect for early morning stroll to town for coffee, kayaking or cooking indoors or outdoors. Spa, BBQ and all the amenities for a beautiful time away on the Coromandel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The location of these apartments is perfect overlooking the beach and sea. The facilities are all first rate. I can not imagine a better place to have an evening BBQ! Paul was extremely helpful with good advice on the local attractions, restaurants etc.
Overall we had no doubt that the somewhat higher price tag was worth it and that our money was well spent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our three week adventure of New Zealand started at the Beachfront Resort in Whitianga. The quality of accomodation, super helpful hosts and amazing location made for a superb three days. Our jetlag quickly disappeared as we spent hours in the sea and admiring the views. The rest of our trip around New Zealand went well however my wife and children kept reminding me that subsequent locations "weren't as good as the start we had in Whitianga".

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiclutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is one of the few properties in Whitianga that are right on the beach. Others are across a fairly busy road. When we first arrived, we were warmly welcomed by the hostess, and when she showed us to our room, we were bowled over by the view. It literally is steps away from the ocean, across a well manicured lawn with lounge chairs, a nice picnic deck with gas grill for the guests, hot tub, and trampoline. Other toys, such as kayaks and boogie boards, are also available at no charge. The room was very spacious, with a large, well equipped kitchen (full size fridge, 4-burner range with full oven). The guest laundry includes a free washer (cold water only) and coin operated dryer. The room comes with a clothes drying rack that you can set up on the roomy balcony (which is also a great place to hang out with a good book, wine and cheese, and enjoy the view). Now for the down side... For the size of the rest of the room, the bathroom was relatively tiny. The sink was smaller than most standard bathroom sinks, and had separate hot and cold water taps, which we found annoying. There was no counter space for a toilet kit. The plumbing could use some upgrading as well. The water temperature and pressure in the shower fluctuated wildly when, we assumed, someone else in the resort either flushed the toilet or turned on the shower. To boot, of all the lodgings we stayed in over a 4 week period in NZ, this was by far the priciest. Bottom line, it's a lovely resort, but next time, we will probably do more research and check out some of the other properties that we walked by on the way to town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailor908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A very nice, small famliy run hotel with fanastic surroundings and wonderful beach. Very frendly and service minded hosts. We felt very velcome and had a wonderful stay during Christmas 2013. Thank You Kate and Paul!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frode J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
17.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
75 reviews
11.7 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
15.6 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Resort

Address: 113 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, The Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: $181 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY RIGHT ON THE BEACH ... Our superb absolute beachfront location is the secret to the special charm of Beachfront Resort. Uniquely in Whitianga, there is no road or traffic, only garden and Pohutukawa trees between you and the seashore. Each comfortable, immaculate Beachfront Unit has full kitchen facilities, SKY TV, and a private patio or balcony with spectacular uninterrupted sea views of Mercury Bay.Wireless broadband Internet access and guest laundry also available. Kayaks, body boards, beach games, a trampoline, heated spa pool and BBQ are provided for guests so you can enjoy life on the beach right here. A private and peaceful haven only minutes away from the buzz of Whitianga’s shops and restaurants, Beachfront Resort is conveniently located for exploring the whole Peninsula with easy day trips to Coromandel town, Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Your Hosts Kate and Paul Dimock Beachfront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing