We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise!”
Review of Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Pauanui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The approach to the complex is to the rear of the building off the main road - but don't be deceived - the rooms and outlook are excellent!
For anyone looking for accommodation which is home away from home with the most amazing outlook over the ocean and the sound of waves crashing on the beach - this is the place to stay!
We received a very warm welcome, excellent recommendations on "where to eat" and our unit was supplied with an excellent assortment of utensils, crockery, cutlery and we even had the option of putting pure woollen blankets on our bed instead of a duvet!
If you're puzzling over where to stay - stay at the Beachfront Resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    67
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
170
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We have now stayed twice at the Beachfront Resort and love all the little extras; hot tub, boogie boards, trampoline, full kitchen, laundry facilities, BBQ, and more. The hosts are very helpful with booking excursions and even loan out shovels for hot water beach (another must see!) You really can choose the style of holiday you want here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location of the resort is good, easy and short drive to town. The owners are very lovely, even gave us an upgraded room. The rooms are big, tidy and comfortable, however the bathroom was very dated and the shower water was hard to control.
Overall this place would be a lovely location to stay over in summer, with the perfect water front location. It has a nice outdoor seating area with a BBQ, as well as a brand new spa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We loved every minute of our relaxing stay right on the waterfront, infact from what we could see Beachfront Resort was the only motel right on the waterfront, so no fear of children having to cross over the road to get to the beach like at other places in Whitianga. Everything was provided including the very relaxing outdoor spa pool, lovely sitting in there while listening to the waves crashing on the beach. The motel is a good walk from the town centre but you can enjoy the scenery of Mercury Bay as you do so! I have no hesitation in recommending this place if you want a relaxing holiday at the beach with such beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: Downstairs room located on the beach frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Loved this place. Nice room, heated well, nice location, lovely people with giving an upgrade was exceptional. Will recommend to anyone who goes to whitianga! Beautiful beach and was a 10 second walk from our room which was amazing, had beautiful weather the 2 days we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were well looked after, and the motelier was very helpful. Coming by bus to this particular motel was our only drawback, as it was some distance out of town. If you come by car, you will find everything just marvelous. Sited on the beach couldn't be better if you haven't been to Whitianga before. The motelier did drop us off in the town centre, and a recommendation to all, is to do what we did, and spend a couple of hours at the local museum. It is worth the effort

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we arrived late at night and had no trouble finding the place because of the bright sign that can be seen well at night from the road! The room was very clean and tidy! In the morning we were even more pleasantly surprised to see the most gorgeous view of the beach from our window! Great facilities (spa, bar, beach) and very comfortable in the room itself. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: the beach front view room is more expensive but the view and the garden is just so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana_B27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
17.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Resort

Property: Beachfront Resort
Address: 113 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, The Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY RIGHT ON THE BEACH ... Our superb absolute beachfront location is the secret to the special charm of Beachfront Resort. Uniquely in Whitianga, there is no road or traffic, only garden and Pohutukawa trees between you and the seashore. Each comfortable, immaculate Beachfront Unit has full kitchen facilities, SKY TV, and a private patio or balcony with spectacular uninterrupted sea views of Mercury Bay.Wireless broadband Internet access and guest laundry also available. Kayaks, body boards, beach games, a trampoline, heated spa pool and BBQ are provided for guests so you can enjoy life on the beach right here. A private and peaceful haven only minutes away from the buzz of Whitianga’s shops and restaurants, Beachfront Resort is conveniently located for exploring the whole Peninsula with easy day trips to Coromandel town, Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Your Hosts Kate and Paul Dimock Beachfront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing