We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being in Rarotonga”
Review of Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachfront Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family had a four night stay after New Years eve and were delighted with our booking from an internet search. The only accommodation right on the beach, you really feel relaxed and cosseted from the outside world. Only three units below, three above, makes fora private experience and we met a wonderful family at the BarBQ Bar which overlooks the dunes. A sandy path between flowers leads right on to the beach and you can see the waves breaking from your room. We enjoyed the downstairs room as the large terrace, four piece dining table, umbrella, towel rail, lounge chair gives you a wonderful in/outdoor flow. Sleep with the waves crashing (like on a reef), enjoy the outdoor spa under the stars,semi tropical garden, tramp, hammock to read your book overlooking sea etc. The unit is spacious and tastefully furnished - great quality sheets, a lovely picture of 'Cathedral Cove' on the wall - a local must see, and the Hosts Kate and her husband are very considerate and discreet. My only comment would be if you book upstairs, don't stomp around in the middle of the night.- this was addressed though. It is a treat (more expensive) to stay here, but it is really worth it and we said a few times (when passing other places to stay right on the road with concrete everywhere) how lucky we were to be at 'our' Beachfront Resort! PS The Housekeepers deserve a compliment too!

Room Tip: If winter, upstairs would probably be better as 180 degree views and you have a sheltered balcony (w...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Beachfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 330 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights and the room was very clean and well presented. Very comfortable surroundings with great views. Fantastic location. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay again. It was great having the use of the kyaks for our two very active boys. Spa was great. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Leading directly from the garden straight onto the beach, the location of this property cannot be faulted. It really is "beachfront" and is in an amazingly unspoilt part of the world.

Located just a short distance from the main centre of Whitinga, the hotel is located on the main road out of town. Paul (the host) gives you a very warm welcome, as well as suggestions as to what to do locally.

The room is not amazingly well-furnished but is very comfortable and surprisingly spacious. The garden has a BBQ and bar area in which you can sit, admire the views and while your time away.

We only stayed here for one night but wished we could have stayed for more. We will definitely be back.


Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank 777pj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

we stayed for two nights, could have stayed forever. The apartment was impeccable, the view/location to die for and the hosts fantastic.
there is a balcony overlooking the back of the property & just twenty paces to a safe clean beach
overall the property is full of ambiance-absolutely exquisite!

Room Tip: opt for the first floor apartment - it's the penthouse but really worth it
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VKMicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the beachfront Resort for 2 nights and the only thing we regret we could not stay longer. The location is fantastic, the apartment is very well equipped, very clean and kids are well served with sand toys .
It is great to wake up in the morning with the beautiful view of the sea and the sunrise. Thank you Kate .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had read all of the amazing reviews and thought this has to be the place to book. When we drove past it though from the road it looked simply like another motel. However when Paul showed us to our room we couldn't have been more wrong. The rooms have been nicely renovated to a high standard but the overwhelming feature of this place is the view and location! It is situated right on the beach with the most amazing view from the balcony. A lovely garden area, complete with a wooden bar and BBQ area leading straight onto the beach with the view of a Pohutukawa tree and a gorgeous bench and table underneath - it really is a painter's dream!

We only met Paul during our one night visit - he was very welcoming and was very keen to make sure we had everything we needed for a wonderful stay.

The rooms are very well set up with a full kitchen unit, lounge area, table and chairs and very comfy bed. The bathroom was a little tired but aside from that - all excellent!

The location is perfect, quietly positioned a little way from the main town but only a NZ$10 (approx.) taxi ride into the town itself, with a very friendly and prompt local taxi company (Whitianga Taxis) recommended by Paul.

We have already highly recommended this to family back in Auckland.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The lower ones have walk through access to the garden and beach. The upper ones...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and couldn't be happier with the accommodation facilities and the service we received. It is right on the beachfront and waking up to the sound of the waves was just amazing.

Thanks Kate for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taterlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
17.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Resort

Address: 113 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, The Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: $126 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY RIGHT ON THE BEACH ... Our superb absolute beachfront location is the secret to the special charm of Beachfront Resort. Uniquely in Whitianga, there is no road or traffic, only garden and Pohutukawa trees between you and the seashore. Each comfortable, immaculate Beachfront Unit has full kitchen facilities, SKY TV, and a private patio or balcony with spectacular uninterrupted sea views of Mercury Bay.Wireless broadband Internet access and guest laundry also available. Kayaks, body boards, beach games, a trampoline, heated spa pool and BBQ are provided for guests so you can enjoy life on the beach right here. A private and peaceful haven only minutes away from the buzz of Whitianga’s shops and restaurants, Beachfront Resort is conveniently located for exploring the whole Peninsula with easy day trips to Coromandel town, Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Your Hosts Kate and Paul Dimock Beachfront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing