We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plan to spend some time here-you wont want to move on”
Review of Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

we stayed for two nights, could have stayed forever. The apartment was impeccable, the view/location to die for and the hosts fantastic.
there is a balcony overlooking the back of the property & just twenty paces to a safe clean beach
overall the property is full of ambiance-absolutely exquisite!

Room Tip: opt for the first floor apartment - it's the penthouse but really worth it
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VKMicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Beachfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 330 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the beachfront Resort for 2 nights and the only thing we regret we could not stay longer. The location is fantastic, the apartment is very well equipped, very clean and kids are well served with sand toys .
It is great to wake up in the morning with the beautiful view of the sea and the sunrise. Thank you Kate .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had read all of the amazing reviews and thought this has to be the place to book. When we drove past it though from the road it looked simply like another motel. However when Paul showed us to our room we couldn't have been more wrong. The rooms have been nicely renovated to a high standard but the overwhelming feature of this place is the view and location! It is situated right on the beach with the most amazing view from the balcony. A lovely garden area, complete with a wooden bar and BBQ area leading straight onto the beach with the view of a Pohutukawa tree and a gorgeous bench and table underneath - it really is a painter's dream!

We only met Paul during our one night visit - he was very welcoming and was very keen to make sure we had everything we needed for a wonderful stay.

The rooms are very well set up with a full kitchen unit, lounge area, table and chairs and very comfy bed. The bathroom was a little tired but aside from that - all excellent!

The location is perfect, quietly positioned a little way from the main town but only a NZ$10 (approx.) taxi ride into the town itself, with a very friendly and prompt local taxi company (Whitianga Taxis) recommended by Paul.

We have already highly recommended this to family back in Auckland.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The lower ones have walk through access to the garden and beach. The upper ones...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and couldn't be happier with the accommodation facilities and the service we received. It is right on the beachfront and waking up to the sound of the waves was just amazing.

Thanks Kate for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taterlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

What a wonderful short break experience again. Everything was perfect from the welcome by Kate to the lovely room and sensational view and ambience of this idyllic spot. This is a place to feel very comfortable whilst relaxing, sitting back taking in the view and to enjoy beach walks so easily accessible from the Beachfront Resort. Really a magic holiday spot and can't speak highly enough of Kate and Paul's friendliness and helpfulness.

Room Tip: Choose the beach view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel's hosts could not have been more gracious and welcoming. We were also welcomed by Izzy, one of the resident cats who helped us to our room. The view from our second floor room was beautiful and the beach was very nice. Unfortunately it was too cold for swimming. Kate also gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and directions to get there. The accommodations were what you would typically expect in a beach resort - comfortable but not luxurious. The location made up for it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bczican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Thanks to the hosts Paul & Kate for a wonderful stay! We certainly had a wonderful time!
The beach was just a few meters away, nice clean and green yard to play, a very relaxing spa, and a nicely constructed deck with bbq & bar looking over to the beach, I might steal this deck setup to be built on my own home :) I called the day before we arrived and asked what else should I bring that the hotel didn't have, and Kate answered with "just yourself".. and she was right, everything was there, kayaks, bodyboards, gas bbq, you name it. And no, it won't cost you a penny for the kayaks etc, they all come with the accomodation!

Me and my family were planning on roaming around whitianga/hahei for 2 days, but skipped quite a few activities and elected to just stay in the hotel because it was more fun & relaxing being there.

This place is highly recommended and if me and my family were to plan an annual out of town, this is the place we will be going to definitely!

Room Tip: You would want to get the bottom rooms as its more handy getting to the beach, yard etc.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
17.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Resort

Address: 113 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, The Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: $126 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY RIGHT ON THE BEACH ... Our superb absolute beachfront location is the secret to the special charm of Beachfront Resort. Uniquely in Whitianga, there is no road or traffic, only garden and Pohutukawa trees between you and the seashore. Each comfortable, immaculate Beachfront Unit has full kitchen facilities, SKY TV, and a private patio or balcony with spectacular uninterrupted sea views of Mercury Bay.Wireless broadband Internet access and guest laundry also available. Kayaks, body boards, beach games, a trampoline, heated spa pool and BBQ are provided for guests so you can enjoy life on the beach right here. A private and peaceful haven only minutes away from the buzz of Whitianga’s shops and restaurants, Beachfront Resort is conveniently located for exploring the whole Peninsula with easy day trips to Coromandel town, Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Your Hosts Kate and Paul Dimock Beachfront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing