We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marlin Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiralty Lodge Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
$126
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
10
7
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
7
1
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 19 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

All reviews are subjective, of course. We loved the Marlin Apartments, we found the owners to be very friendly and helpful, and the Wi-Fi worked perfectly for us.

We had a two-bedroom apartment at the front, so probably the best spot and very spacious. All for the price of a one-bed apartment as we just turned up and there were spare rooms.

Lovely views, handy for whatever you want to do in Whitianga. On the road but traffic no problem.

Recommended if you can get sea-view apartments - can't speak for the rest. But isn't that true of any review of any place?

Room Tip: Room at the front with sea-view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights there in apartment One.

It was dated and uncomfortable. The bed was uncomfortable and squashy. The couch was a sofa-bed type - again very uncomfortable.

The dining table had 4 chairs but there wasn't room for 4 people.

We got a 300ml milk and a single bar of soap. The soap and towels etc were not refreshed daily. The managers were less than welcoming.

We were there 10-13 July 2013. The place was extremely cold and we had the heater on the whole time while inside. The free wifi was a joke. The antiquated internet system they had allowed us to order by the hour. They were gone a full day so that meant we couldn't renew internet access. We got sighs and rolled eyes when asking for more internet access. Even then, the internet allowed only one computer access.

It was clean enough but I would not go back due to uncomfortable old furniture and lack of facilities. The bathroom comprised a toilet with a door, then a shower in front with a sliding door. There was also a handbasin right by the back door. There was no door - the handbasin was freestanding in the back doorway and a very very cold place.

The Sky TV had only 5 channels - none of the popular ones such as movies. Just down the road, there were units with more facilities at a lower cost.

We booked because the pictures were deceiving as to how poor it really was.

I feel ripped off having paid $140 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were pre booked into our Marlin Apartment which I had done online. Once we arrived the motelier told us that she had overbooked purely by accident, she was very very helpful and put us next door in a 3 bedroom home with lovely views at the same price for our one bedroom motel room. we were very happy with that and thought that the service from the Marlin Motels was excellent.

Room Tip: great location and lovely views
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yachtyoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My family of 6 stayed at Marlin Apartments for 2 nights and found it extremely enjoyable. The location is awesome with stunning views of the bay. We had one of the front apartments which comfortably slept the 6 of us with plenty of room to spare. It was spotlessly clean and the owner was extremely helpful. We will definetely be back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The accommodation location was great Situated by the beach and Whitianga town. The friendly staffs made us feel welcome and the facilities were well maintained and clean. The unit is spacious enough for 4 adults With a nice sunny deck in the afternoon (we stayed in unit 4) Loved the sound of the waves through out our stay, and afternoon walks on the beach..it was great !!! Would be perfect if the checkout time would be 11 am instead of 10 am. Otherwise Highly recommended and will definitely return for a great accommodation.!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashika03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews