We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
65
20
5
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
65
20
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road great location fantastic room ceiling fan checking in nice hosts fantastic stay buffalo beach stayed longer one night upstairs room minute walk would stay again self catering beach front stayed nights close to town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 95 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Cant rate this place highly enough. Lovely spacious room, great bathroom great view of the sea and helpful friendly owners. 15 min walk into the nice town of whitianga. Best place we have stayed in the whole of NZ.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 777helenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

Five years ago we came across Baileys at the Beach whilst travelling around NZ. We had a great stay then and thought we'd return to the area, hoping to stay here again. We were in luck.
The property is now run by different hosts, Brad and Jo, both lovely people and always on-hand to pass on their local knowledge and sometimes the odd fish.
The upstairs room we stayed in had a balcony with a beach view. It was light and airy, well equipped and very nicely decorated. Furnishing were excellent, very good kitchen facilities and a stylish shower room.
Baileys is located within easy reach of the town, 15 mins walk, and ideally located for the surrounding beaches.
This was very good value for money and I'll stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to NZ.

Room tip: Upstairs rooms have very nice balconies and a better view.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinp1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

We showed up and it was 31 degrees out and found out they did not have AC (we should of seen that clearly on the website) ended up we almost needed a heater by the time the sun dropped!! Beautiful view very new rooms nice walk to great restaurants and cabs available if the walk back is too long. Cars on the road in front stopped around bed time so no issues.
We would stay there again. !

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Eatrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

Stayed just one night, other family members stayed longer.
The owners are extremely helpful and lovely people. Great accommodation and sparkling clean.
A lawn outside with toys was a great attraction for my granddaughter, perfect for young children, although Area is not gated so be careful of little ones who can sprint.
Literally across the road from a gorgeous sandy beach.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MargaretAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018

Brad and Jo are wonderful hosts and can't do enough for you. The units are spotless and comfortable. It's an easy 20 minute walk to several restaurants. The views from the rooms are amazing. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradJoAdams, Owner at Baileys at the Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

It was great having you guys stay with us. Look forward to seeing you for trip Number7. Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews